Globe eSIM Available End of 2018

Discussion in 'Globe Telecom' started by neilrg, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. jbfirefly

    jbfirefly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    They did but it was the first time for them to do the activation. So they didn’t really know much what they were doing. I thought it was ok already but apparently it was still using the physical SIM. Will bring it back tomorrow.
     
  2. msgt16

    msgt16 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Quezon City
    The Globe staff got some info in my phone and associated it with the physical SIM. After a few minutes, the physical SIM was deactivated already. They then scanned the QR code and activated the plan. At first, they encountered a snag but after connecting it to their wifi, the eSIM was activated.
     
    jbfirefly likes this.
  3. Marc Heinakai

    Marc Heinakai New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Baguio
    Do we need to present valid ID's for verification before they activate our esim?
     
  4. Guerde

    Guerde Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes, they asked for my ID when I requested for an eSim.
     
  5. atchoo420

    atchoo420 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just got an Watch Nike+ Series 4 GPS+Cellular.

    Do you guys have any idea or news from Globe as to when will eSim be available here?

    Cheers!
     
  6. jbfirefly

    jbfirefly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    That’s probably where they made a mistake they didn’t get any info from my phond
     
  7. dacci

    dacci New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nope. They may have done it wrong to you.

    Globe didn't get any info from my phone. Just asked for an ID, gave me QR, signal transferred on eSIM.

    Happy new year everyone.
     
  8. ishg

    ishg I'm female!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    78
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Seamless activation here thanks to Globe Store UP Town Center. Staff member assisting me said it was her first time activating the eSIM. No info was asked of me either, I just made sure to turn off cellular data and connect to Ayala Malls Go WiFi prior to activation. Also removed the physical SIM after and made a test call and checked data on the eSIM before leaving the store.
     
    #248 ishg, Jan 1, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2019
    Dipp and jbfirefly like this.
  9. jbfirefly

    jbfirefly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Don’t you worry. I will have it fixed tomorrow.
     
  10. tomangelo

    tomangelo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cebu
    I'm using a globe prepaid sim on my unlocked xs max. Will Globe allow me to change this to an e-sim? Or is it only for postpaid subscribers?
     
  11. suburbia

    suburbia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    gotham city
    so far for postpaid only.
     
  12. oldtimer

    oldtimer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    93
    Curious, how's your phone's battery life? Please state if you are using an XR, XS or XS Max, too. Thanks.
     
  13. Escritor

    Escritor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Sir!

    I am currently using an Xs MAX and so far, Battery Life on a DUAL SIM is above average

    (above average for me = I don't have to charge for 9 hours [working hours] while using it "HEAVILY" for text/calls/facebook/instagram/emails "on a DATA" [with 30-40 minutes total of watching videos on YouTube during break time])

    I rarely play games so I can't really assess if how the battery performs when playing games.

    IMHO, I would say the battery of Xs MAX is DECENT for its specifications.

    FYI: I have a friend who owns an iPhone XR and accordingly, XR's battery can outperform my Xs MAX (his claim is based on my daily usage).
     
    oldtimer and Hero33 like this.
  14. mllim

    mllim New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dagupan City
    Should i remove first my physical globe sim and replace it with my sun nano sim before having the globe esim activated?
     
  15. antski

    antski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,675
    Likes Received:
    43
    After activating your eSim, you won't be able to use another phone with your postpaid account without requesting for a new sim from Globe.
     
  16. shootertwist

    shootertwist PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,207
    Likes Received:
    540
    No significant change on batt life of my iphone xs max having both globe (esim) and smart nano sim, works as intended and switching networks is so convenient, typical apple
     
    oldtimer likes this.
  17. Hero33

    Hero33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Makati
    Can anyone confirm whether you can have 2 ESim profiles?

    Thank you
     
  18. rdy0329

    rdy0329 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    576
    Gender:
    Male
    Can confirm Globe locked units have both sims locked. Tries out GigSky App for App-based eSim activation and it's the first warning when the app started up.

    I'm still crossing my fingers for the Apple Watch though. They really just need to roll out VoLTE and number sync for it to work.
     
  19. tomangelo

    tomangelo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cebu
    That sucks. Will still try though when I get a chance to go to a mall. :) Thanks!
     
  20. trigo

    trigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    66
    i currently have XsMax with 2 physical sim installed.

    how can i use globe esim on my aw3 that has LTE capability?

    is this feasible?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!