Globe DSL vs PLDT DSL

Discussion in 'General OT' started by tweek, Mar 18, 2007.

  1. tweek

    tweek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    221
    I've been a subsriber to PLDT DSL service for over half a decade now and I'm thinking of switching to Globe DSL. I'm changing because of the total cost of Globe DSL is almost half of that to PLDT DSL at the same speed.

    P1,995 = Globe phone + up to 2Mbps + free 2 hrs Wi-Fi + VAT inclusive + 2 months free if switching from another DSL provider + free Globe2Globe NDD landline + free install fee
    P3,000 = Up to 2.2Mbps + free unlimited Wi-Fi; no free phone + VAT exclusive + no free PLDT2PLDT NDD landline

    I'm worried that the cheaper rates comes with far worse and inconsistent service & customer service. I'm also worried about latency because of WoW
     
  2. longbeard

    longbeard Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I hope Globe will cover our area soon..
     
  3. zagu

    zagu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati,
    you have free unlimited wifi on PLDT dsl for the plan 3000?

    thats weird i dont have that offer...
     
  4. tweek

    tweek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    221
  5. gan

    gan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bacoor, Philippines
    I can't comment on the latency, but I am with Globe's 2Mbps plan and after the Taiwan incident, I can get as much as 1.7Mbps for my plan, more than the 60% supposed "actual" speed and I don't suffer any disconnections. But then again, I'm here in Bacoor and less than a kilometer away from a Globe switch station. Oh together with the 1Mbps, it comes with a wireless modem/router already.
     
  6. uio

    uio Guest

    I did plan to switch to globe few days back but my residence had overspan of 12 meters from the router, I think. They are going to charge me 700K+ per 1m. So I decided to forget globe for the moment and stick with PLDT. BTW
     
  7. cHad

    cHad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    wow! I'm currently paying 1700 for my pldt landline+dsl999 (384kbps), that 2Mbps looks sweet, Is there a lock in period? btw where did you hear about this? is it applicable to everywhere globe has a network in? I went to the globequest site and their current plans are still too expensive.
     
    #7 cHad, Mar 18, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2007
  8. gan

    gan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bacoor, Philippines
    yup there is a one year lock in period, you can check out there site at www.globelines.com.ph and it goes all throughout where globelines is available.
     
  9. longbeard

    longbeard Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  10. cHad

    cHad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    ah nakuwa ko na... pero data package lang pala eto. Hinde kasama yun land line.
     
  11. gan

    gan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bacoor, Philippines
    Nope, that 1995.00 for a 2Mbps DSL line includes everything from your DSL subscription to your monthly landline subscription.

    Globelines is also offering the same price for DSL lines only. But if Globelines is available in your area, why get the DSL line only when for the same price you get a landline and a DSL connection.
     
  12. ditoy_eagle

    ditoy_eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Blue Ridge QC
    Hey guys, anybody here having problems with Globelines DSL? I plan to get the 2Mbps plan, I am located in katipunan qc area. I was never happy with the previous PLDT, now Bayantel which I will be returning (thank God for a trial-period) and hopefully Globe is better.
     
  13. martaw

    martaw Guest

    I am a subscriber of Globelines DSL and got problems with their DSL, since the Taiwan earthquake incident Globelines DSL is getting to my nerves! However, Globelines Customer Service is superb! Globelines gave 50% rebate on the interrupted services.
     
    #13 martaw, Mar 26, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2007
  14. mendozil

    mendozil Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    been on both.

    globe pa rin, if it's a choice between the two.
     
  15. ruger

    ruger Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ortigas
    I tried calling 172 to inquire about that free unlimited Airborne Access account for plan 3000 subscribers and, as usual, the representative had no idea what I was talking about.
     
  16. Treb22

    Treb22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    19
    hi guys. is the globe dsl here refers to their speak and surf thing? i'm planning to get one myself. is this any good? before i plunge into something i might regret. thanks.
     
  17. Maccess

    Maccess Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just switched from PLDT to Globe here in the Mandaluyong Area. With PLDT I was paying P4,000 + P1,500 + VAT for the business 2Mbps package, with Globe I am being charged P2,500 flat including the Phone line.

    My PLDT DSL Speed never exceeded 800Mbps, based on speedtests to PLDT's speedtester, and speeds were as low as 164kbps to outside speedtesters.

    Globe speedtest to globequest.com.ph shows a speed of 1.9 - 2.1 Mbps, speedtests to outside speedtesters (including PLDT's) range from 600-900 kbps.

    Checking the modem configuration, I noticed that Globe is running ADSL2 networks which support higher speeds over longer distances.
     
  18. hannibal

    hannibal Guest

    i like Globe's bursts this week. especially now that season finales for our favorite tv shows are up and available ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  19. longbeard

    longbeard Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Did you subscribed to the Speak & Surf of Globe?
     
  20. bon

    bon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I think Speak & Surf refers to Innove's wireless-to-your-home offering (a la Smart Bro) - Globe also offers wired DSL service. Speak & Surf is usually offered in areas where no wired DSL is available (e.g., many parts of Quezon City) and I think is limited to only around 256 kbps tops.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!