Globe Cellular Data Network Configuration

Discussion in 'iPad, iPhone, iPod touch and Apple Watch' started by galaceuriel, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. bad_boy

    bad_boy Watching Your Language
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Manila
    ^Apologies for the obvious question, but are you subscribed to a cellular data service?
     
  2. m3ta1he4d

    m3ta1he4d Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Auckland
    you can connect to the internet with or without using 3g. just make sure that the field entries are correct on the network settings. :)
     
  3. bayum

    bayum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you do this sir? :D
     
  4. bad_boy

    bad_boy Watching Your Language
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,474
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Manila
    ^I believe that he's referring to connection via EDGE.
     
  5. Eidekos

    Eidekos Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    i always turned it off. also i add xxx at the end of globe site name to make sure hehe
     
  6. loudsound

    loudsound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Laguna
    Good thing there's a thread about this here in PhilMUG. I'm having problems setting up my mobile connection. I have a Globe prepaid sim which was just cut and not an issued microsim. It's an old mobile number so I intend to use it too on my iPhone 4S.

    I already used http.globe.com.ph in the APN and subscribe to POWERSURF15. I called Globe last night and right now I still can't connect via 3G. Well, they suggested that I get a microsim from them.

    Questions
    1. If I get a microsim can I still retain my current mobile number?
    2. Will getting a microsim fix my problem?
    3. I noticed that someone registered SUPERSURF50. Is this the required service that I should register to instead of just POWERSURF15?

    I'd like to try some options first before I get the microsim from Globe. TIA
     
  7. Colossus1973

    Colossus1973 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Westchester County, Salem Center, New York
    I hope you don't mind if I'm only able to answer one of your questions. Yes you can still retain your old mobile number if you het a microsim from Globe.
     
  8. Ejaxene

    Ejaxene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Powersurf and Supersurf are different.

    Powersurf = consumable internet
    Powersurf15 = 1-hour accumulated use, valid for 24 hrs
    Powersurf30 = 3-hour accumulated use, also valid for 24 hrs
    Powersurf50 = 5-hour accumulated use, valid for 3 days? (forgot if it's 3 or 5)

    Supersurf is unlimited use for a certain time. P 50 would give you unli internet for 24 hours.

    Anyway, just text powersurf/supersurf info to 8888 for more details ;)
     
  9. loudsound

    loudsound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Laguna
    got it working already after posting my question. i think the call i made to globe last night helped. the apn http.globe.com.ph still works.
     
  10. kinse_44

    kinse_44 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    839
    Same here I cant use the APN http.globe.com.ph when trying mobile internet with my phone. But when using the old globe APN www.globe.com.ph I can connect and even get 3G signal.

    I wonder if changing my sim would have it working with the http.globe.com.ph APN.
     
  11. yehey9

    yehey9 PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    Hi,

    a friend of mine bought an iphone4 at Topnet megamall.

    she cant access the internet using 3G. theres this error "You are not subscribed to a cellular data service".

    she has her enable 3G and cellular data fields set to on.

    are there settings we should have set but missed??? thanks philmug!!!
     
  12. yehey9

    yehey9 PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    We tried switching a globe postpaid(locked) iPhone4 and postpaid microsim (with working 3G) and my friends factory unlocked iPhone4 and prepaid microsim (non-working 3G).

    we were able to access the internet using 3G of the factory unlocked iPhone4 and the postpaid microsim.

    but no luck in using the internet using 3G on the Globe locked iP4 and prepaid microsim.

    so, is it the microsim whos faulty or its just the settings on the phone?
    Is there a different setting for prepaid and postpaid iPhone4?

    Thanks for any help.. :D
     
  13. jaytrixz

    jaytrixz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taytay Rizal
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    What's your APN when using the prepaid sim? It should be http.globe.com.ph not internet.globe.com.ph
     
  14. yehey9

    yehey9 PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    its http.globe.com.ph.. we also tried using "globe" as username and password instead of leaving it blank, nothing still..

    thanks :D
     
  15. bhoyetjumpay

    bhoyetjumpay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Likes Received:
    208
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    try to reset settings, settings>general>network>cellular data network, scroll down and hit the reset settings, restart the phone and key in APN again, http.globe.com.ph

    hope this helps
     
  16. penmanila

    penmanila The Pinoy Penman
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,885
    Likes Received:
    1,743
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Diliman/Metrowalk
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    wait, wait--is your friend indeed NOT subscribed to a cellular data service? i don't see how the settings will work if your friend isn't on a data plan in the first place. (or maybe i just understood this wrongly.)
     
  17. yehey9

    yehey9 PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    @bhoyet: will try your suggestion later. thanks! :D

    @penmanila: apologies, i dont understand.. how can she subscribe to a cellular data service/ data plan? she is using a prepaid microsim. does she need to register onto something to have a cellular data service? Thanks sir!

    EDIT:

    after googling again, i found this thread, http://www.philmug.ph/forum/showthread.php?t=48080&page=3
    never knew it existed, i was trying to search for it before i created this thread, but i guess im looking at the wrong category..
    sir badboy also asked if that person is subscribed to a cellular data service.. so this might be it, so how to subscribe to a cellular data service?? thanks guys! :D
     
    #37 yehey9, Dec 15, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  18. indygo

    indygo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Köln, Deutschland
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    How to get data plan on prepaid:
    http://surf.globe.com.ph/plan/powersurf-prepaid

    But wait, I also bought an openline unit from Topnet and it can't access the internet whatever I do that I ended up reselling the unit at a loss. They are nice and friendly while you're purchasing, but the exact opposite when unit gets problems. The manager told me to complain to DTI if I have problems.
     
  19. yehey9

    yehey9 PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    thanks indygo!

    i said your suggestion to her that she might need to register to powersurf before she can connect to the internet..

    but she said that her internet is not working, that she cant even browse Globe's homepage (even if it is free to browse there) because the error keeps on showing up..

    she also said that even if it is not registered to powersurf, it should connect to the internet because the default charge is to connect to the internet with per minute charge to her prepaid load.. Thanks!

    oh really? it happened to you also at topnet? actually the first unit that my friend got has a defect also, the light of the camera flash doesnt turn off.. so she went there for a replacement. even the first phone cant connect to the internet via 3g.
     
  20. jaytrixz

    jaytrixz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taytay Rizal
    Re: iPhone4 3G settings for Globe prepaid HELP

    It might be that the prepaid number is so old that there's really no mobile internet feature in it like those certain numbers that's already in use since the late 90s.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!