Error on Adium: Too many failed log in attempts when logging into YM

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by barns, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. barns

    barns Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Hi!

    For months now, I've been constantly getting the error "Too many failed log in attempts. Logging on the Yahoo website might fix this', whenever I log on to YM using Adium. Logging into the yahoo website does indeed fix things, but of course this bugs me to no end.

    Usually, this happens whenever I change computers (mornings at work, evenings at home). Is anybody else experiencing this? How to go about fixing this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. nydge

    nydge Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please check your 'Login Server'. Try copying any of these Login Servers that work perfectly for me.
    [​IMG]

    or

    [​IMG]
     
  3. briareos

    briareos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also try changing the port to 80
     
  4. barns

    barns Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    thanks nydge and briareos. will try those suggestions.
     
  5. alikishi

    alikishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    the 2nd server worked for me!
     
  6. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    This happens a lot when I switch to my phone, mac on Smart Bro, or iPod Touch. It seems that even if I sign out from one device, I am still connected to the Yahoo network. So when I connect, I get the multiple login attempts error.

    Lately when I ditched Adium and used Yahoo Messenger 3.0 Beta i get less of these errors. YM signs off cleanly. But I do encounter them when my phone has a bad 3G connection reconnects often. This bums me out since I have to go on a browser and sign in to my Yahoo Mail to deactivate the lock.
     
  7. jps444

    jps444 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,464
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ZONE (Quezon City)
    this happens to me alot but in facebook chat in adium. what's the fix for it?
     
  8. sybcruz

    sybcruz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    does adium allows webcam and video conference?
     
  9. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    Last time I used Adium no. I now use Yahoo! Messenger 3.0. Works fine. Only one bug: you can't see your avatar. But others do.
     
  10. Barbara

    Barbara Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can check logs attempts with Protemac LoginTrap
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!