eero - Mesh WiFi networking

Discussion in 'OS X Server / Xserve / Networking' started by PatrickGaerlan, Feb 16, 2015.

  1. chluna

    chluna New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    I bought 2 refurbished first-gen eeros from Amazon when they became available. Placed the gateway at the second floor, while the other node is directly below in the second floor. I just disabled the WLAN of the the PLDT-supplied ONU and plugged the gateway on LAN1. Setup was unbelievably quick and problem-free.

    My family has always complained about the internet connection getting unreliable and slow (due to the number of devices connected to it), but now, I don't hear anything at all since it was installed a few weeks ago. Also, the whole house has been covered with wireless, which was not even possible with our previous setup of PLDT modem/router + repeater! I even thought of asking PLDT to bridge the ONU just to obtain a P2P-compatible NAT type for the Switch, but it looks like I don't need to do that.

    I definitely recommend it.
     
  2. Longfellow

    Longfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philippines
    How's your Eero up to date usage? I have a similar set up as yours, it's a headache and the repeater seems to be retarded and keeps disconnecting.
     
  3. chluna

    chluna New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    I have no issues with it. I did have a TP-Link repeater in my previous setup that worked pretty okay, but not as great as the eero. I have also tried bridging the modem by requesting it through PLDT, but it slowed the downlink and caused a loss of connection after a hard reboot of the modem. It was a good thing I was able to reset the modem to the default settings and brought it back to route mode.
     
    Longfellow likes this.
  4. Longfellow

    Longfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philippines
    Okay. That sounds like a great improvement. Is the new setup PLDT Modem then Eero?

    How do you deal with needing more ports? Would it be PLDT Modem then 1 Eero then a Linksys router with 4 ports then 2 extra Eero (not beam) with each port possible?
     
  5. chluna

    chluna New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Yes, that is my setup. It is double NAT, unfortunately. I only have a Raspberry Pi that I use as Pi-hole which is connected via Ethernet, so there are no ports available on the gateway eero. If I had a need for more ports, I would rather buy a cheap, dumb switch connected to any eero.

    I am not sure completely understand your network topology, but is it like this?

    modem
    >gateway eero
    >Linksys router (via Ethernet)
    >leaf eero 1 (via mesh)
    >leaf eero 2 (via mesh)
     
  6. Longfellow

    Longfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philippines
    Is it complicated to do the raspberry pi?

    My current setup is:

    Modem
    >Linksys router via ethernet
    >PLDT Repeater

    My question was:

    Scenario 1:
    Modem
    >gateway Eero #1 (via ethernet)
    >Linksys Router (via ethernet)
    >Eero #2 (not the beacon)(mesh)
    >Eero #3 (not beacon) (mesh)

    Scenario 2:
    Modem
    >Linksys Router (via ethernet)
    >Eero #1 (not the beacon)(via ethernet)
    >Eero #2 (not the beacon)(mesh)
    >Eero #3 (not the beacon)(mesh)

    I hope this clarifies it. I’m not sure if there’s a difference between the 2 scenarios or if there’s a diminishing return.
     
  7. chluna

    chluna New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Both would be fine, I think. Your main issue would be NAT, so I suggest that you bridge your Linksys router if possible. Again, it would be much simpler to buy a dumb switch if you just need more Ethernet ports for your setup. You could just connect it to any eero.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!