Dot Mac Questions

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by Bulakbol, Aug 6, 2007.

  1. Bulakbol

    Bulakbol Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to search for a similar thread but I can't seem to find it. I hope somebody can clarify this for me.

    I understand that the .Mac Family Pack has one 1GB storage for the main account plus 4-250MB space for the extensions. What if there's only 2 persons in the family? Can I reallocate all the 4-250MB space for a total of 1GB to the second person?
     
  2. scuba_holic

    scuba_holic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Makati - Calamba and everywhere inbetween
    Unfortunately, the storage capacity for the sub-accounts are not upgradeable and can't be reallocated. You can only upgrade the main account.

    HTH
     
    #2 scuba_holic, Aug 6, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2007
  3. Bulakbol

    Bulakbol Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, I thought the storage allocated to the sub-accounts can be pooled together or something. So it maxes out at 250MB each? Not a good deal if there are only 2 people who will avail of the Family Pack I guess? We'd rather purchase two individual packs to avail of the 1GB storage for each then.
     
  4. macychic

    macychic Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parañaque
    hi, i just also want to ask the following:

    1. i read from the apple (.mac) site, i read that iWeb now offers a personalized domain...
    how do i do that?
    2. my .mac trial account is about to expire, can i register a new account because i want to have a new .mac account email sana?

    thanks!
    http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1314/1125487821_0842aec8c2.jpg?v=0
     
    #4 macychic, Aug 15, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  5. Bulakbol

    Bulakbol Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. For personalized domains, I think you have to find your own domain name registrar and you have to pay extra for that. After creating your website, you will publish it to the domain of your choice.

    Here's the complete instructions from the website.

    To set up .Mac to use a personal domain name:
    1. If you haven't already registered a domain name, visit an accredited domain name registrar on the Internet and register the personal domain name you want to use.
      For information about registering a domain name, search the Internet for "domain name registrars."
    2. If you're not already logged in to .Mac, go to www.mac.com, and log in.
    3. Click Account in the left column on the .Mac homepage, and confirm your login.
    4. On the Account Settings page, click the Personal Domain button, and then follow the instructions that appear.
      When asked to enter your domain name, be sure to type the entire domain name (including the extension, such as .com, .net) that you've registered.
    5. When you see a screen confirming that .Mac is configured to host your domain, go to your domain name registrar's web hosting area, and point your domain (by adding or changing a "cname record") to "web.mac.com."
      For instructions on changing the cname register, contact your domain name registrar.

    2. Yep you can do that. I changed my email address too via a trial account which I eventually registered on dot Mac.
     
  6. hubes

    hubes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here, there, & everywhere
    .Mac's storage allocation was increased at the same time as the announcement of the new iMac. It's 10GB for the personal account and 20GB for the family pack (10GB for the master account & 2.5GB for each of the four sub-accounts).
     
  7. macychic

    macychic Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parañaque
    sufficient na ba if i just buy a domain name? i dont have to buy a web hosting plan, do i?
     
  8. Maverick

    Maverick Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong SAR
    yup you can just buy a domain name...
     
  9. hubes

    hubes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here, there, & everywhere
    You can buy a domain from Go Daddy (they're very reasonable & reliable) and have your site reside on .Mac. You can easily set up domain name forwarding so you don't have to buy a web hosting plan from another provider.
     
  10. alvinrayyu

    alvinrayyu Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    5
    hi bulakbol,

    what can we do with the extra 3 accounts? i will only be using the master account and another sub account.

    thanks.
     
  11. metrochik72

    metrochik72 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabang
  12. Bulakbol

    Bulakbol Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm, I gave them all away to family and friends.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!