does your firefox choke?

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by penmanila, Dec 11, 2006.

1. penmanila

penmanila The Pinoy Penman
    Staff Member

i've been using firefox for maybe a couple of years now (since it first came out, anyway) and lately it's been "choking" on me a lot--i mean a partial freeze where i can't input anything (say, in the google search box, or anything that involves writing text), although the refresh, stop, and back buttons still work.

has this happened to you? my only solution has been to close the window, and then to open a new one. by the way, my firefox automatically opens to about six favorite tabs, so it takes a while to load. my powerbook has 1.25 gig of RAM so it should be able to handle this easily.

i'm using safari in the same mode right now and so far so good, no choking--and i'd forgotten how fast safari has become.

2. bittersweet

bittersweet Member

It happens to me, too. Haven't used any other method except for what you suggested (open a new window).

3. ultratramp

ultratramp Active Member

ive experienced weird behavior with firefox doing just that. but even weirder behavior with safari whenever i go to an aa hotspot, where it just shuts down. my workaround is to open another browser (firefox) to log in. its after loggin in that i experience the firefox shutting down while the safari stays open and works without hiccup once logged on. any ideas on what gives?

4. lamski

lamski PhilMUG Addict Member

I used to experience page freezeups on certain sites I visit and the culprit is a very slow/non existent embedded advertisment that could be easily remedied by the firefox ad block plugin. You can check what embedded ads are causing the page to freeze by opening the activities window in Safari or the tools/error console in firefox.