do not upgrade from tiger to leopard, do fresh install???

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by oliver_mac, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. oliver_mac

    oliver_mac Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    singapore
    guys, just want to get your opinion on this.
    my company will soon be reinstalling fresh leopard os from scratch since they said that the upgrade have some problem.

    below is a transcript of the mail.

    is this really so based on your experience?


    """"""""""""""
    Dear All,

    Received word from Apple that upgraded versions of OS X Leopard are infested
    with many bugs which disable normal operations such as printing, surfing,
    uncontrollable hanging of applications or shut down....missing files, etc

    We are recently observing such happenings in our office. Preservation of our
    data is in order and to ensure uninterrupted operations in the near future.
    The only known solutions is to back up our data and do a clean installation
    of OS X Leopard. As this is a time consuming exercise, we need the
    co-operation and co-ordination of every staff to ensure that we can complete
    the exercise expeditiously.

    All staff must back up their data before Saturday 23 Feb. you can do this
    using the time machine program in Leopard into a USB or firewire drive. DO
    NOT backup programs as we will install this fresh over. Please collect your
    own LICENCE software such as MS Office, etc from Oliver which have the
    designated allotment of software in our office.

    Please also collate OS X Leopard installation disc if you see one to ensure
    as many machines can be setup as possible. PLEASE DO NOT USE THE OS X
    LEOPARD UPGRADE DISC.

    """"""""""""
     
  2. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    They're just being over cautious. I've updated an entire office to Leopard using the upgrade option. No problems on my end.
     
  3. oliver_mac

    oliver_mac Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    singapore
    it started when one of our mac mini crashed and have to reformat the drive.
    then one of the imac have some problem with file permission, can not move any icon on the desktop!
     
  4. itchan

    itchan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Pinas
    I've done both upgrade and fresh install a couple of times (see I'm a fidget when it comes to my mac)

    my comments:

    Fresh install
    -Everything will be as good as new. But you wont retain any app previously installed on your mac. If you use your mac "personally" you will find it a bit limiting with regards to your mac capabilities, especially if you previously have an ilife that came bundled with your tiger installer (leopard doesnt have ilife bundled to it). Also comic life is not included on the leopard (I am a self proclaimed visual artist so I use this app a lot)
    -I recommend fresh install if you have nothing to do with your previous version of mac and the apps that comes with it anymore. If you have some apps that you still want to use on leopard, you might want to do a compatibility check first coz there are still a couple of apps out there that are not leopard compatible-based on experience, I encountered compatibility issues on games like black hawk down, need for speed carbon, generals + zero hour. (I hate it when mac sounds like windows ugh)

    Upgrade:
    -I like this option better, because I can retain my previous softwares without worrying about the compatibility with leopard, Like I said awhile ago, I need to have the comic life on my mac so I decided to reinstall tiger (then install all the applications that are having compatibility issues) then installed leopard (I really dont want to download a pirated version of comic life, nor do I want to spend an extra 20 USD for it (i think)...hey If I got a legit copy, why not just use it =) ). I never encountered any issue with printing, surfing the net; everything really is like what it was when I did a fresh install.


    bottomline is:
    -if the news is really from apple (never heard of anything like that yet, and if it's true, apple should do a public announcement for this, especially beneficial for those that are using macs for mission critical processes) then, I think you should heed their advice and do a fresh install. Especially now that you had toasted macs allegedly because of the upgrade. I dont use my mac extensively (like 8 hours a day for office work) so I'm not sure if those problems comes out of extended use. I still doubt it though

    -Rule of thumb... on anything you do that would require you to alter a system configuration... DO NOT FORGET TO BACKUP... so what if your "upgraded" leopard crashed, as long as you have a backup of the critical stuff that you have on your computer, nothing should go wrong right? =)



    I did a lengthy blah blah here, and I'm not really sure if I helped, I hope I did though. =)
     
  5. quasar

    quasar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pasig City
    I just upgraded the OS on my iMac from Tiger to Leopard. After booting up, I immediately ran software update to bring Leopard up to 10.5.2. No problems so far.
     
  6. RommelReyes

    RommelReyes Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parañaque City
    i did fresh install on my imac and upgrade on my macbook (but later did a fresh install anyway)...
     
  7. rpzab

    rpzab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen
    i did a fresh install right away from tiger to leopard on my macbook.
     
  8. francis79

    francis79 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Quezon city
    i did an upgrade also, and no problems here. =)
     
  9. michaelkenji

    michaelkenji Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ayala, Makati City
    did an upgrade too, and no problems encountered..

    i got a little confused with this part of the mail transcript:

    If you guys haven't installed Leopard on your machine yet, how can Time Machine be used? i never did a fresh install of Leopard so i don't know if the user gets prompted to back up their data using Time Machine when doing a fresh install..

    sorry for the stupid question, if you think it is..
     
  10. oliver_mac

    oliver_mac Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    singapore
    @michaelkenji

    all the machines already run on leopard which already have time machine. just need to back up first before wiping the whole drive.

    i honest don't suggest anyone to do fresh install as it is very time consuming especially when installing your third party apps.
    but I suggest do a complete backup.
     
  11. cipher

    cipher Guest

    you CAN do a fresh install using the upgrade disc. then just reinstall bundled applications from the tiger cds.
     
  12. taongyaman

    taongyaman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also went for an upgrade, except for reinstalling my printer driver (epson stylus C45) and the apple external fax modem, everything is okay. No problem encountered since Sunday (Feb. 17).
     
  13. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    well, if it doesn't go well with the upgrade, you can always go for the Archive and Install. This is the next best thing to a fresh install since the entire System folder is rewritten.

    I suggest your company just take the Archive and Restore route, it'll be much simpler and less time consuming. The only part that will take long is the dumping of the Previous Systems folder and emptying the trash after.
     
  14. toyM

    toyM Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati City
    I went the upgrade way and didn't encounter any problem, except for some apps that were not leopard-compatible yet. apple was pretty helpful with providing updates to its native programs and after 10.5.2, i guess i'm ok. But that's just one Macbook. For a multiple mac setup, though, I would go for the archive and install, too.
     
  15. renegade68

    renegade68 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought an iMac originally installed with tiger but has been updated with leopard. I want 2 install bootcamp but my worry is if I do install xp, will I still use the drivers in d tiger CDs? Hope u can help a newbie, tnx
     
  16. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    When you install Boot Camp from within Leopard, it will let you create a new Windows Drivers CD with all the latest drivers.
     
  17. Josephu992

    Josephu992 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your upgrade disc will have problems if it has been improperly copied. I suppose you have many copies to upgrade all your computer faster. The fastest way to upgrade all your computers is to use an APPLE OS X server. There is a program called Netboot that can simultaneously upgrade all computers on a network. The speed of the network determines how many computers you can do at one time. You might also try Apple Remote Desktop. An excellent computer management program that permits a central computer to upgrade and configure all local and remote computer via LAN or WAN. Good Luck!
     
  18. raypin

    raypin PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    14,666
    Likes Received:
    7,851
    mmmm.....I prefer the fresh install solution whenever I run into major problems with OSX. Its like spring cleaning the house. Everything goes back to brand-new mode. I like that feeling. Besides, I have installed very little third party apps and my personal data are easily backed-up in a thumb drive. Besides, that also frees up precious hard drive space in my mba. Takes much longer......
     
  19. weirdohenrico

    weirdohenrico Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Paranaque
    i just did an upgrade install. did come across a problem with yahoo messenger crashing -- just reinstalled it and it is working now. Upgrading is less hassle.
     
  20. 180er

    180er New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    My friend is considering getting Leopard to upgrade his PowerPC 1.6Ghz G5. He's concerned that Leopard may have some issues with PowerPC's. I doubt it. But anybody here who can assure there'll be no problems?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!