deleting/uninstalling apps on a Mac (merged)

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by cremebrulee, Aug 20, 2005.

1. cremebrulee

cremebrulee Guest

hello everyone, i hope you can help me. i used search function already and my topic hasn't posted by anyone yet, so here goes.

i'm new to using mac, and it belongs to my sister. recently, she wanted to delete some software and she does not know how. i am aware that there are some software with uninstallers, but this particular software (or rather game), does not. could i be safe in just moving the folder to trash and empty trash? just wanted to make sure...don't want to ruin my sister's mac...:uh-oh:

btw, that game i am trying to delete already came with the ibook g4, it's called tony hawk's proskater 4. we don't really like the game, so might as well take it out. :)

[Edited on 8.20.05 by cremebrulee]

2. kartman

kartman Member

i've done that before--trashed applications and linked files/folders (including preferences) of applications i wanted to get rid of without an installer.

it didn't seem to hurt my book's system.

3. angel_benet

angel_benet Active Member

just trash the application's folder. that's all there is to it. :)

4. cremebrulee

cremebrulee Guest

great, i needed some validation from people who deletes programs this way...thanks for helping out! :)

5. hacksaw

hacksaw Member

It would still be ideal to use the "uninstall" function of a program if it has it, otherwise, dragging the whole program folder to the trash is fine.

~hacksaw

6. penmanila

penmanila The Pinoy Penman
    Staff Member

you can uninstall most programs in OS X simply by trashing them, but note that some will leave preferences and maybe even hidden files behind that may or may not affect the behavior of your machine later. whenever possible, use the uninstaller that comes with many programs.