Connecting MBP to Samsung LCD TV; no sound

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by aaron, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. aaron

    aaron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    5
    I tried connecting my mbp to my gf's samsung LCD tv. Video is fine thru DVI-HDMI but I am not getting any sound thru the mini-headphone - RCA connection. I tried using two mini-headphone to RCA cables already but same result.

    By the way, I can only connect at the TV's side ports (the one located at the side instead of the back) since the TV is mounted on the wall and I don't want to mess with their tv since it's not mine.

    Any ideas? :slanted:
     
  2. bon

    bon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Perhaps the Samsung is expecting sound to come from the HDMI cable (since HDMI carries both video and audio while DVI is video-only). Check if the Samsung TV has a setting to allow you to pair analog audio (via RCA) with digital video (via the DVI-HDMI cable).
     
  3. suavecito

    suavecito PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,445
    Likes Received:
    525
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Elm Street
    Try outputing the audio to a seperate amplifier/speaker since the LCD might be getting the audio/video from a single source eg. HDMI, Component, Composite Analog.
     
  4. alikishi

    alikishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    what i did with my Hitachi LCD is that I connected the audio out of the MBP to the audio in of the HDTV (both are 3.5")
     
  5. bacchus_3

    bacchus_3 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,805
    Likes Received:
    310
    Gender:
    Male
    hi alikishi, I have a Samsung HDTV too and there is no way for you to output audio thru the TV if you use the HDMI. Samsung engineers missed to consider the special case you intend to do (I did try this also). The available audio in that you can use in a Samsung TV is available on a different 'source' channel so when you pick the HDMI source no sound comes out.

    You can actually try to look for that 'source' where your audio in plays but with no video. I go by suavecito's suggestion to listen to audio if I output video thru my Samsung HDTV.
     
  6. Hero33

    Hero33 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Makati
    Can the Sony LCDs use the audio from the HDMI connection?

    Specifically the w and v series.
     
  7. suavecito

    suavecito PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,445
    Likes Received:
    525
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Elm Street
    Yeah but in case of the TS problem, he uses DVI to HDMI with his Mac. Take note that DVI doesn't carry audio signals.
     
  8. kili-kili power

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    0
    its puzzling... how can you set the input of the TV to hdmi and expect audio from an Video3 (?) side connection to overide the audio of the HDMI input? i don't think that is possible at all... i'd use a dvi to video cable adaptor nalang...

    [​IMG]

    use that sometimes at home when i'm lazy to convert video files for my apple tv... and i use a mini headphone - RCA cable for the audio...
     
    #8 kili-kili power, Feb 9, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  9. alikishi

    alikishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    wow that sucks. buti pala sa hitachi, I am able to use the audio in of the TV along side with its HDMI
     
  10. busrider

    busrider Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    @aaron: similar to bon's reply... check your TV's manual... are the labels of the HDMI input and the RCA audio jacks the same? it could be possible that the video input (HDMI) and the RCA (audio) input are mapped into different inputs...

    @Hero33: there is HDMI input (port #3) that is paired with an audio jack for the Sony Bravia W Series. i do not know for the V Series...
     
  11. aaron

    aaron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    5
    guys i confirmed this already. you really can't use the hdmi for video while having the rca for audio at the same time in samsung hdtvs. this sucks and bacchus is correct to point out that Samsung engineers really did miss this one. oh well too bad i like samsung hdtvs pa naman.
     
  12. bon

    bon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    @aaron, in our LG LCD TV, there is a 3.5 mm stereo patch cord jack right beside the VGA port, that is meant for use with PCs. This is different from the audio-in RCA jacks for use with component or composite sources. One of the TV's HDMI ports is labeled "HDMI/DVI". When I want to use my Macbook with the TV. I connect the Macbook's mini-DVI to DVI adapter to a DVI to HDMI cable, plug the cable into the "HDMI-DVI"-labeled port in the TV, and run a stereo patch cord from the Macbook into the audio-in jack beside the VGA port. Works just fine for me. You should see if your Samsung TV has a similar stereo patch cord jack - it's easy to miss.
     
  13. aaron

    aaron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks bon. I will look for this next time I visit my gf's place. I think I remember seeing a 3.5mm socket but it says "OUT" and I expect this to be a headphone OUT instead of audio-in.

    But still, I would verify. Thanks.
     
  14. hotSHOT

    hotSHOT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Aaron, any updates? :)
     
  15. andrie

    andrie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys, i think this is wrong. our samsung hdtv does have this capability. it's the hdmi2 jack at the back wherein beside such jack is an rca for the audio. so, it's dvi/hdmi (jack #2) for video and rca for audio.

    though aaron's problem i think is that he is trying to have such connection not at the rear panels but at the side panel, which i am not sure if that is possible.
     
  16. hotSHOT

    hotSHOT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info, andrie! coz i just bought a samsung hdtv and still waiting for it to be delivered. then i found this thread kaya mejo kinabahan ako. hehehe but i'll try it out agad at once pag dineliver na hehehe

    thanks again!
     
  17. andrie

    andrie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    glad to be of help! :)
     
  18. den_168

    den_168 Guest

    I tried connecting my MBP to samsung lcd tv 32" but no video. I use dvi to hdmi cable.
     
  19. redticket

    redticket Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Hi. I'm searching the web for answers for connecting my MBP to a Samsung TV.

    I found one on Apple Discussions.

    I'll be ordering a Mini DP to VGA cable from the online store. Audio cable is my problem. What audio cable would do the job for me? I found a 3.5 STM to 3RCAM 1.5M from CD-R King's website.

    [​IMG]
    Click for full size - Uploaded with plasq's Skitch

    [​IMG]
    Click for full size - Uploaded with plasq's Skitch

    [​IMG]
    Click for full size - Uploaded with plasq's Skitch

    But I'm confused if this will work on my planned set-up?

    Help!
     
  20. Elx200001

    Elx200001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Any stereo to rca connector cable would do. The picture of the cable on your post would do. That's what I did with ours.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!