command + tab not working

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by essay, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. essay

    essay Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    14
    since i upgraded my imac to snow leopard last year, my command tab to switch applications does not work anymore.

    ditto with tab navigation when filling up forms (press tab to go to the next box).

    i have tried tweaking system preferences>keyboard>keyboard shortcuts>toggled click "text boxes and lists only" and "all controls".

    no luck.

    any ideas how to fix this?


    (this is one big reason I haven't upgraded my MBP to snow leopard since I don't wish to lose the command tab shortcuts.)
     
  2. rg0nzales

    rg0nzales Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Piñas
    Give this a try. Just howler if it works.
     
  3. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    Huh, command + tab works on my Snow Leopard.
     
  4. essay

    essay Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    14

    Didn't work. Screensaver thing does not appear in activity monitor or in preferences.

    thanks for the lead though.
     
  5. bacon

    bacon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marikina
    No intentions to hijack the thread... but does command + tab only work with applications whose windows are active on the desktop? I've tried this shortcut with active applications whose windows have been closed or minimized. The "chosen application" does appear on the menu bar but its corresponding window still remains anchored to the dock.
     
  6. mindless

    mindless Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    There may be something wrong with your dock. The application switcher (what activates when you press cmd + tab) is a subprocess of your dock. so is the spaces switcher. have you modified your dock in any way?
     
  7. essay

    essay Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    14
    update.

    I guess my keyboard tab is a hardware problem, not software.

    I found out, the tab does not work when I'm working on a microsoft document.

    I connected the iMac keyboard to my MBP, and the tab command also does not respond. When I used the MBP keyboard tab command to switch app, it is working.

    Time to buy a new keyboard I guess.

    Now, what could be a good replacement?
     
  8. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    Unlike Apple mice, I think Apple's keyboards are really good and worth the money. I like both the wired and BT aluminum keyboards.

    Another good alternative avaiable locally is the Logitech keyboard specifically made for Macs. I forgot the exact model -- it's white, I've seen it in several VMall shops.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!