Chernobyl - HBO Mini series

Discussion in 'Media and content' started by warmgreentea, May 17, 2019.

1. warmgreentea

warmgreentea Well-Known Member

Has anyone seen this series? I've watched the first two episodes (ongoing) and it is bone chilling good; scary because it was about reality rather than the paranormal. This is great if you like the political drama genre with a twist of a documentary film.

I have friends who also agree that this is a good break from Game of Thrones.

This event in human history is so terrifying.

hitme64, SE20, Sunil_K and 4 others like this.
  2. greta87

greta87 PhilMUG Addict Member

yes, it's a very realistic account of things. although some of the characters are fictional of course (as admitted by the producers). it gives a very accurate portrayal of an old & decaying Soviet Union in the mid 80s..

I was a freshman in college when this happened & since chernobyl was still part of the old USSR back then, info about this disaster was very limited. thanks to this mini-series, we're getting a closer look at the events as they unfolded and all the politics in between.

Godfather, hitme64, bowman60 and 5 others like this.
  3. SE20

SE20 PhilMUG Addict Member

Does the series mention Maria Sharapova? Her parents were from a town near Chernobyl, and she has a theory about why she is tall.

In the forest outside the town, after the explosion, the mushrooms grew to the size of dinner plates.

“My mother and father are not small, but are not big either. I am six foot two, not counting heels. I tower over them. So where did that height come from? ... My mother was about to be pregnant with me when the reactor blew, drinking the water and eating the vegetables, and continued to drink the water and eat the vegetables after she had gotten pregnant, so who knows?”

Excerpted from her autobiography, Unstoppable

Godfather, ronjet and greta87 like this.
  4. warmgreentea

warmgreentea Well-Known Member