Call of Duty 4

Discussion in 'Third party hardware, software and accessories' started by shaft, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. shaft

    shaft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi, im using a black macbook - got it Jan 08. Anyway, apparently the RAM is 1G. If i install two 2Gig RAMS, will it help solve the choppy game play movement of Call of Duty 4?

    Or is the Macbook really not for these type of games?

    Sorry for the noob question but just wanna really find out. Thanks :)
     
  2. mitchtb

    mitchtb Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque / Pasig
    I think it still wont take out the choppy movement. I think its a video card issue. You need a dedicated memory card for this game
     
  3. Theus

    Theus PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,996
    Likes Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Antipolo / Las Pinas
    yeah dedicated vram is advisable for this game. i'm more keen on getting the wii version having read reviews on gameplay/controls :)
     
  4. Mykolant

    Mykolant PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,417
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Between Down Under and the Great White North
    Is this game (for the Mac) available at DataBlitz? I think my 4-gig MBPro can handle this easily...I kinda miss shooting games like CoD!
     
  5. Theus

    Theus PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,996
    Likes Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Antipolo / Las Pinas
    2 weeks back it was not. i checked datablitz in sm marikina, they only have wii version.

    yeah, we still have COD2 on our iMac, my kid's loving it (although i really shouldn't be letting him play it :redface: )
     
  6. dep28

    dep28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's a vram issue. can't do anything about it but lower vid quality
     
  7. Mykolant

    Mykolant PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,417
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Between Down Under and the Great White North
    @Theus: thanks for the info. I'll have to visit DataBlitz to double-check availability then. You're right; better keep your kid away from playing this game. Its only for big kids like us!
     
  8. pochiman

    pochiman PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    488
    can the Macbook Air [ 1st gen ] take this game head on albeit at lower settings?
    if yes, would it still be enjoyable? thnx!
     
  9. ncarandang

    ncarandang Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Makati
    i dont think the 1G MBA can take it. COD4 is such a demanding game, that its used for benchmarking purposes.
     
  10. shaft

    shaft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    thanks for all the replies. just upgraded ram at digiwalker. got two 2 Gigs installed so im at my max 4 Gig Ram. Its still a bit choppy but it definitely improved. I adjusted the mouse sensitivity as well.
     
  11. edricdude

    edricdude Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,616
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Quezon City
    can you play Call of Duty 4 online? like in PCs, GG client?
    i'm currently downloading Call of Duty 4, coz I usually play COD at school.
     
  12. byt_898

    byt_898 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
    Has anyone tried playing it on the mac aluminum? I've read somewhere that its running on 30 something fps which isnt that bad I think.

    Care to share your experience on this one?
     
  13. mig

    mig Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    6
    finished this game the other day. run it through bootcamp in XP though, so im not on the mac version. runs well at the native resolution with mixed high and medium settings. gets a bit choppy ones things start exploding big time though.
     
  14. decyph3r

    decyph3r Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London, UK
    Nice work around, will try this out. :cool:
     
  15. Salaryman Ryan

    Salaryman Ryan PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,902
    Likes Received:
    685
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tokyo, Manila
    There are a couple of Youtube videos showing CoD4 gameplay on a Macbook. :)
     
  16. MacLex

    MacLex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys... there's a COD-for mac at quiapo... DVD-area...hahaha
    it's only P120 i think... maybe u can try it...
     
  17. arnel13

    arnel13 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got COD4 Mac version from Datablitz, but this title has become rare since. Runs really smooth on the unibody Macbook 2.0GHz. I maxed out the settings (except AA which is really demanding) but kept resolution to second highest to the native. Native resolution makes things choppy on moderately heavy scenarios, so I have to keep it down a notch for me to keep most details settings to max (which for me is more important than sheer resolution).

    Btw, this to me is the best FPS yet for the Mac.
     
  18. edricdude

    edricdude Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,616
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Quezon City
    I'm downloading mine via torrent. a day to go.
    guys, can we play COD4 on-line on our mac os? like in the windows, the Garena GG client?
     
  19. chairman

    chairman Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Juan
    Guys, as a matter of PhilMUG policy we're not allowed to talk about pirated software here or downloading via torrents. Please refrain from doing so. Thanks.
     
  20. byt_898

    byt_898 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
    Hi Arnel13,

    What branch of Datablitz and how much did you pay for it?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!