Best SSD for Santa Rosa MBP ??

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by thurbs, Jul 29, 2009.

1. thurbs

thurbs Member

What is the best SSD to buy for use in my older MBP ( Santa Rosa 2,4 ghz , before the multi-touch pad )

Also, will moving to SSD give me a dramatic speed up in using my mac?

Typical use : big excel files, browser with many tabs, huge apple mail and some adium / skype and some unrar for my HD movies :)

Any advice would be great

2. skinhead

skinhead Active Member

get the Intel X25, expensive yes but you'll be blown away with the speed. I have no personal experience though but at macrumors it's the most recommended one, the the best daw so far for our Macs.

im also not sure if this applies to the sta rosa MBP but on the unibody, you can remove the optical drive and replaced it with an SSD or a regular HD for a total of 2 hard drives :)

3. mig

mig Active Member

The Intel X25's have been getting superb reviews.

4. skinhead

skinhead Active Member

heres a random WRITE graph, top performer is the 160gb X25 G2 (34nm 2nd generation SSD), sayang wala sa graph yung G2 80GB ($230+) thats what i want to buy pa naman :)

[​IMG]

take note the 2nd below the graph is a regular 10,000 RPM sata HD Western Digital VelociRaptor.

5. daxdagr8t

daxdagr8t Member

crucial just released their own ssds.

6. raypin

raypin PhilMUG Addict Member

short answer is no. If you want a dramatic improvement in system performance, you have to balance it with the other components, typically the CPU, memory, graphics card and hard drive. If your only option at this point is the hard drive, I don't think that it will improve your system's overall performance.

7. thurbs

thurbs Member

interesting I had heard great things about the SSD.

im already 2.4ghz and 4gb ram, I want to buy another MBP so I can give my GF this one, but I want them to do a quad core already.