Aperture question

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by joemoso, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. joemoso

    joemoso Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can aperture perform like adobe photoshop like putting in other objects/pictures in another picture? and the like?
     
  2. bacchus_3

    bacchus_3 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,804
    Likes Received:
    310
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi joemoso, simple answer is No. It only allows you to retouch, do basic post-processing and cropping/framing.
     
  3. itchybrain

    itchybrain Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    @bacchus

    sir, I'm thinking of getting Aperture but I haven't met anyone who has one. What can you say about Aperture? What's its advantage over the sofware bundle when you buy Canon DSLRs? I'd appreciate your reply. Thanks.
     
  4. dominiquejames

    dominiquejames Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    itchybrain, the apple website provides a very comprehensive introduction to aperture. you will get a very good overview of what aperture can do for you (and also, what it does not do). in the apple website, there are a number of free video tutorials that you can view and even download all of them for free. go to http://www.apple.com/aperture/ for all introductory information on aperture you might need.

    here in philmug, aperture has been discussed in a number of threads. to catch up on these interesting discussions, and if you have any questions you'd like to ask along the way, i recommed doing a search on "aperture."

    there are also a number of websites that provide free information on aperture. check these out:
    http://digitalmedia.oreilly.com/aperture/
    http://www.apertureprofessional.com/
    http://www.bagelturf.com/

    enjoy aperture!
     
  5. itchybrain

    itchybrain Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll just do my searching again. :)

    Thanks for the reply, Dominique. I appreciate it. :)
     
  6. dominiquejames

    dominiquejames Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    itchybrain, for starters, aperture is not a replacement for adobe photoshop. aperture works hand-in-hand with adobe photoshop. photoshop and aperture have a one-click tight integration. this integration, in the industry parlance, is called "round-tripping". both aperture and photoshop are fantastic tools for professional photographers. you will benefit emmensely using both.
     
  7. itchybrain

    itchybrain Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great new for me. :) Thanks, DJ. :)
     
  8. surgfish

    surgfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Im just starting to use Aperture, I imported iphoto's album, what I didnt know is Aperture duplicates the number of photos iphoto has, so it consumed like about 2GB of hard disk space which resulted in a very low disk space (<500mb). Is there a way around this?
     
  9. fidji

    fidji Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    When importing your iPhoto library, you can choose either to copy the images or access it w/o storing them in your Aperture library (reference files are created). This works with iPhoto ver 5.0.4 and up.
     
  10. dominiquejames

    dominiquejames Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    delete one set of copy or the other, either in aperture or in iphoto. re-import, but select the option to keep in its original location and not copy.
     
  11. esm

    esm Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    just using an old thread to ask a question...

    how big are your aperture libraries... ?

    maybe another question is until how big will you be willing to make it before you create a new one.

    for me, my Aperture Library is about 50+ gigs and 90% of the photos are referenced files. I had to move it out of my Macbook Pro since I still have 120gb of hdd space (not migrated to a bigger hdd at the moment).
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!