Airport Cannot Detect Network(s)

Discussion in 'Time Capsule, AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express' started by simplyme, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. simplyme

    simplyme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using Mac OS X 10.5.8 Airport cannot detect network(s) at all. Anybody encountered this issue and resolved it? thanks.
     
  2. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    You have to delete old settings. But I do not have my notes. Easy way is to create a new Location in your Network Airport preferences. then use the default settings for wifi.
     
  3. simplyme

    simplyme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already did that.. Still no success. :(
     
  4. ijingo

    ijingo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
  5. simplyme

    simplyme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    read here that resetting the PRAM would not work on OS X. :(
     
  6. skinhead

    skinhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    #6 skinhead, Apr 3, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  7. ijingo

    ijingo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Up to you. You may try it or not. Its just a suggestion that will not harm your computer. if your computer does not retain parameter RAM (PRAM) settings when it is turned off, this generally indicates that the battery needs to be changed probably. you may scratch this off if you like naman.
     
  8. simplyme

    simplyme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    still not working.. :(
     
  9. creativeideaz

    creativeideaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere near you
    I remember encountering this issue before migrating to Snow.

    There are different cases that this happens and that could be the reason mentioned solutions does not fix your problem.

    Try accessing your Keychain Access settings. Look for any recorded access mainly used for networking or internet connection (wifi logins etc.) and delete them (be sure that you know these passwords first so you can relogin).

    This might not be a exact solution but it worked for me that time though. ;)
     
  10. simplyme

    simplyme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I did that as well already. Still no success. Does it mean that my Airport card is defective already?
     
  11. Paulo del Puerto

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'm experiencing a similar problem. I can't connect to ANY wireless networks, but my mac sees all available networks. I've tried almost all possible solutions I found on the net but nothing worked. I tried zapping the PRAM resetting the SMC, erasing system prefs, deleting entries in keychain access, creating a new location....etc. NOTHING worked sadly. I spent 2 whole days tryinv to fix the problem to no avail. It's a widespread and long standing problem with Macs that Apple can't seem to fix.

    Last resort is to get tbe airport card changed. But according to my research...it's still a hit or miss solution. And most people who have W7 installed on their macs don't have a problem with their connections at all, it's osx sl that's been givig them problems.

    Anyone else experience this problem?
     
  12. freak

    freak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm... my problem is not exactly unable to connect but the airport wifi connection gets cut off after a few minutes. i can reconnect but then it drops off again.

    our accommodations currently offer free public wifi (which doesn't have any issues on my other notebook since i'm near a hotspot), sadly no hardwire yet. but i should not have any issues right?

    i've already tried all the tips here but still no dice. also checked with the admin and they said that they do not have mac address filtering so it's not the mac address too.

    anyone who might be able to help?:eek:

    tia
     
  13. maracid

    maracid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Alabang
    I had a similar problem on my Air. I sent it to PowerMac for diagnostics.
    They reinstalled my OS. Problem solved.

    Downside was that I had to surrender my Air to PowerMac for a couple of weeks.
     
  14. freak

    freak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm so reinstallation did it for you.. hmm.. i'll try it sometime. thanks for the tip:cool:
     
  15. mysterio

    mysterio PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    335
    My airport can still detect the wifi network that it could previously but now it cannot connect to it. It's always causing the Wi-Fi icon to have an exclamation point with a message "ALERT: NO INTERNET CONNECTION". I've tried deleting the plists but still cannot connect.
     
  16. an2ni

    an2ni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MNL
    go to Network delete the Airport then restart, then add a new Airport in the Network. That's what I did to my sister macbook.
     
  17. mysterio

    mysterio PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    335
    Now it can detect and connect, but it seems to be at a slower speed than usual.
     
  18. kamote

    kamote New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You may want to boot to the install DVD that came with your device to see if it can detect networks there. That way you will be able to isolate between a potential hardware or an operating system issue.
     
  19. freak

    freak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't reinstalled the OS yet, but an office mate who also has a mbp tried to share the internet connection via his mac and i was able to connect to the net without no problems, even the connection speed was great. It was the same as when we shared the connection via airport.

    The problem is the wifi connection at our accommodations is not via Apple hardware as most of the users are on PCs. My Windows laptop connects to it with no problem, but my mbp still drops the connection.

    Is it still worth the trouble to re-install the OS? Or is it better to just have it checked by the service center?:eek:

    this i'm willing to give a shot since it should'nt be as much hassle as reinstallation.
     
  20. ast

    ast Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    any stable fix to this problem? i have this issue now :( been using Sun SBW lately because my MBP cannot connect to our home's wifi :(
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!