Adium CONFIG help

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by sascoordinator, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. sascoordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,

    i don't know how to configure adium...

    though i added a yahoo account

    there's always a GAIM error being displayed.

    help please...

    TIA!

    PS: proxy is set to use a PAC file and i can't find where to put the URL in adium
     
  2. kartman

    kartman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    adium prefs

    sas,

    i used to have the same problems. in the office, i could connect via ym but not adium.

    so i asked our i.t. to check our firewall and proxy settings. turned out that was the problem. binigyan ako ng access so now i use either.

    anyway, if it's any help, i don't use proxies in adium and the messenger login server is scs.msg.yahoo.com port 5050.

    hth.
     
  3. sascoordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, kartman.

    i can't connect with adium as well as ym. i guess i have to check my access rights from the server.
     
  4. longbeard

    longbeard Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Try doing SSH and use port 25
     
  5. alistair

    alistair Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Try configuring Adium to connect using port 80 instead of the YM port (5050?).

    [Edited on 9-28-2005 by alistair]
     
  6. sascoordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ali - tried it... still getting a Gaim error...
     
  7. alistair

    alistair Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Strange. Wait - you're behind a proxy? Then you'll have to configure the proxy settings for that account as well (I can't help you with a screenshot on this one since I don't use a proxy [but we do have a firewall that restricts port 5050]).
     
  8. rexfuge

    rexfuge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Piñas
    do you think i can use port 80? im also restricted to access port 5050....

    but i can use skype... does ym and skype use the same prefs...
    :uh-oh:
     
  9. alistair

    alistair Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Our other officemates are behind the firewall and all they do is set YM to use port 80 and it works. Why don't you give it a try?
     
  10. bmsantillan

    bmsantillan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had the same prob before with YM connecting via proxy... it was solved by logging in invisible mode.. try it. Just make sure all proxy settings are correct. ;)

    Never tried Adium via proxy though.. Good Luck!! :angel:
     
  11. cubix

    cubix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    try ichat in yahoo. works great! :p
     
  12. ayrton senna

    ayrton senna Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    yup.... now im having the same problem. showing as "gain error" bla...bla...bla... i dont normal use adium on my mac when i chat (normally use my pc for that) but when i tried opening adium my other accts like msn, icq where able to connect but my yahoo acct didnt. i didnt change anything on the yahoo acct (last time i used it 2 weeks ago it was still working?).

    tried all the suggestions here but to no avail. my set up at home is using APE. again i didnt change anything but now its not working. tried using my yahoo messenger and it works to but not if i use it through adium. any other solutions you can suggest?

    AS
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!