Accidental Deletion of the usr Folder

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by triballistic, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. triballistic

    triballistic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nearby
    I had quite a scare a few hours ago.

    I was browsing my Mac's HD when I chanced upon a folder named "usr" (it's on the first window you see when you click on your HD [joined by the Library folder, System folder, Applications folder, etc.]). I thought to myself, "Hey, I didn't create this." so I decided to delete it.

    BANG. All of a sudden Safari hangs, and so do other the other apps. I restarted my Mac but it couldn't get past the swirling thing. A message kept popping up saying that I needed to restart my Mac. I tried restarting; it couldn't. I had access to Windows but that was all. :(

    So, I reinstalled (choosing "Archive and Install" so as not to delete existing files and settings).

    Voila! It was fixed. I did a research about the usr folder and it seems like a lot of people have also accidentally deleted theirs. I also read that the folder was supposed to be invisible, I don't know what I did to make it appear. :p
     
  2. triballistic

    triballistic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nearby
    I got a question.

    I reinstalled the OS and I find all my files intact. I then see a folder on my HD named "Previous Systems". I guess this is a copy of the previous user accounts and files. Can I delete it? 'Cause it ate up some space from my HD.
     
  3. Chito Limson

    Chito Limson Unfrozen…
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,982
    Likes Received:
    853
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Miles ahead of you
    Yes you may delete the folder 'Previous System'. It is the 'archive' created when you reinstalled your OS X. I believe all the libraries (system and users' libraries) have been duplicated in your newly reinstalled OS X. Give it a few days though before you delete Previous System just to make sure that all important data have been copied over to the new OS.
     
  4. madmax168

    madmax168 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    15
    to hide the /usr folder so you won't accidentally delete it again in the future, type the following command in terminal:

    sudo chflags hidden /usr

    it should hide the /usr folder
     
  5. triballistic

    triballistic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nearby
    Will do.

    Thanks! ;)
     
  6. intuxik8ed

    intuxik8ed Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Here, there, or behind you.
    @triballistic

    Dude, just because a file or folder wasn't created by you doesn't mean it is fair game for deletion. It doesn't matter which OS you are using (Mac OSX, Win XP/Vista, Linux, or other Unix flavors), but they are all the same in that there are files and folders in them that were placed or created there by the system during or after OS installation. So, next time before you delete something, ask around first if it is OK to do so.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!