8 GB Memory uprade to MBP ok?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by Kryptonian, Oct 17, 2009.

  1. Kryptonian

    Kryptonian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North
    Hi Guys,

    I have the 15" 2.53 Ghz MBP and have these questions:
    - Does upgrading your 15" 2.53 GHz MBP's memory to 8 GB worth it?
    - Does it have any side effects?
    - Has anyone here tried that before? What are your experiences?
    - If you upgraded to 8 GB then will some applications slow down?

    I have read somewhere that the memory upgrades should be equal in order to have no issues. Like you must upgrade your memory only to 4 GB and 8 GB. Upgrading it to 6 GB is no good at all because it will not balance with load and some apps will run slower including overall performance. Has anyone confirmed this and can back this up?

    500 GB HD upgrade questions:
    - Do you need to buy also hitachi HD brand because it is the default HD that is included in your MBP?
    - Does upgrading to 500 GB HD will slow down your boot and shut down time?
    - To the people who have experience the 500 GB HD upgrade, what is the HD brand you bought and have you experienced any side effects?

    Last question: Do you have any advice/tips in upgrading memory and HD?

    I need some enlightenment pleas because I am planning to upgrade mine to 8 GB and 500 GB for work intensive apps and windows games.

    EDIT: I found my same question to macrumors forum Reading it now :)

    Thanks in advance :cool:
     
    #1 Kryptonian, Oct 17, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  2. jaijin

    jaijin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,147
    Likes Received:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    8GB RAM: do you really need that much RAM? it's just not practical...yet. But that's me.

    500GB: not necessary to get the same brand of HD, and no, it won't slow your MBP's performance down.
     
  3. an2ni

    an2ni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MNL
    8Gb ram, price is not practical.

    500 GB HD: go for a better brand, WD.
     
  4. Kryptonian

    Kryptonian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North
    Ok thanks for your replies. HD brand is not an issue so I will go with WD.

    My priority will be the 500 GB HD.
     
  5. EricS

    EricS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure about the memory upgrade.

    But for the HDD, higher density platter HDDs will mean better speed. Check the HDD if it has 2 platters instead of three. The 2 platter design has 250gb per platter vs the 3 platter that has 166gb per platter. I'm not sure about other brands but Samsung has a 500gb 2platter HDD with shock protection. Its called the Spinpoint M7. Sadly, its not available locally. At 250gb vs 166gb per platter, you get the performance equivalent to a 7200rpm HDD with a 5400rpm HDD--less heat dissipation.

    Check it out.
     
  6. Salaryman Ryan

    Salaryman Ryan PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,909
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tokyo, Manila
    At the moment 8 gig is not practical because of the cost. Also if your 2.53 MBP is from mid 2008 (removable battery), I believe you can only upgrade it to 6 Gb of RAM. The first MBPs that can accept up to 8Gb with the removable battery is the one with the 2.66 Ghz processor. While all MBP with the sealed battery can use up to 8 Gigs of RAM.

    As for the Hard Disk, as long it is SATA, regardless of the brand, your Macbook Pro will accept it no problem. :)

    You mean "memory interleaving?" Believe me friend the so called performance hit is negligible. Barefeats.com did some testing and the difference is barely noticeable (about 1 to 2 seconds).


    @jaijin

    Just 10 years ago people were saying "1 Gig of RAM is way too much!" Now having 4 Gb is standard. I believe it is only a matter of time all of us will be using and 'can't live without' 8 Gigs of RAM.
     
    #6 Salaryman Ryan, Oct 18, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2009
  7. pfalcone

    pfalcone Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines
    Does any local shop carry 8GB SODIMMs compatible with the Macbook Pro? I'm already on 4GB, and the thing is, I need more to run a couple more virtual machines (for work).
     
  8. Shinrai

    Shinrai Guest

    You also won't get to use up all of the 8GB in normal use. Maybe very heavy media-oriented work but for regular media stuff (convert to iPod format, PS) I can't even use up my 4GB ram. Once software catches up, it'll be much more in demand and way cheaper.

    pfalcone's case is actually one of the few times when even more ram is better due to virtualization. It has to be paired with a sufficiently powerful machine though for a smoother run. Wow, multiple OS - I can't even juggle Windows and OSX running at the same time. :)
     
  9. mang_boy

    mang_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will make MBP (and any capable Mac) zippy since paging out is less likely, IMHO.

    Check the Activity Monitor. If you see mostly blue and green on the pie chart (under System Memory), which represent free and inactive memory, you don’t really need to upgrade. :)
     
  10. IronMan

    IronMan Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 4GB module's price at the moment is prohibitive so it's still not worth it. To have some quantitative proof of the performance benefits of upgrading to 8GB of mem, you can check out some sites on the web that does this.

    If you're really after performance, you should upgrade the slowest component on your MBP, i.e., your hard drive. Get an SSD and you'll see the performance difference. ;) Everything seems so fast and swift. This is most noticeable if you're doing disk-intensive tasks. Otherwise, if you're doing number crunching, you'll need a faster CPU.

    In my case, i still haven't upgraded my MBP to 4GB because afterwards, i don't have a use for those 2x1GB modules other than to sell them. And i suck at selling. But then i digress.
     
  11. mnx

    mnx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    15
    my wife's 2.66 mbp is running 8gb ram and a 7200rpm hdd... i'm not sure if there's actual performance gain but she "feels" they improve performance... that's what counts...

    i'd say get both... even if the effect is purely psychological, the "happy" feeling is worth the entry price...
     
  12. Salaryman Ryan

    Salaryman Ryan PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,909
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tokyo, Manila

    The most convenient way to get 8 Gigs of RAM is through Macsales.com. Be willing to pay about 500 USD for 8 Gigs though. 8 Gigs should improve your performance by lots if you use Virtual Machines.
     
  13. Hero33

    Hero33 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Makati
    so is it possible on the machine? I think I have the same one.
     
  14. mindless

    mindless Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you really want to spend the money and get an actual performance increase - just go get an SSD and replace your harddrive.
     
  15. drew03

    drew03 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you have money why not. .
    if your going to use your unit as a server or a workstation i think its worthed. but if not you just waste a lot of cash..
     
  16. Salaryman Ryan

    Salaryman Ryan PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,909
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tokyo, Manila
    I believe your model only goes up to 6 Gb of RAM but just in case I suggest to check your specs in http://www.everymac.com/
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!