28 kernel panic attacks and counting

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by Roman, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. Roman

    Roman Let's hug it out!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    While some Mac users NEVER experience this in their entire lives (the wifey for example), I've had 28 kernel panic attacks on my unibody MacBook 2.4 with 4GB RAM and it doesn't seem to be slowing down.

    I noticed that everytime it happens, my Bluetooth doesn't show on the restart. Apple Support in the US suspects that there's something wrong with my Bluetooth.

    I brought it to Power Mac to have it serviced, the technician told me the reason for the kernel panic is because I updated my Leopard to 10.5.6. I dunno if he knows what he's talking about because my friends who upgraded don't have this problem.

    I've also tried an Archive and Install to see if it really is Leopard causing the attacks. Still the same. I've also done a Hardware Test. Still the same.

    Any suggestions? Power Mac won't replace my MacBook. I'm guessing the best option now is to leave it with them and have them fully test it.

    I'm kinda turned off since this is my first Mac ever.

    (Posting from my iPhone because my MacBook just had another kernel panic)
     
  2. migboy

    migboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you considered doing a fresh os install? this is what sapura did to my unibody macbook.
    i had a problem with the time and date due to my migration from tiger (ibook) to the new macbook. just make sure you back up your files before you do a fresh install.
     
  3. ronymd

    ronymd Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    what type/brand of RAM (memory sticks) did you use to upgrade?
    maybe its the culprit, some have issues even with the updated software.... if you still have your old 2gb ddr3, try them and you may also do a fresh install of mac os.
     
  4. Roman

    Roman Let's hug it out!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    According to the guy in Apple Support, a fresh install won't solve it since the Archive and Install didn't. Does it make sense?

    But I think I'll give it a shot this weekend instead of leaving it with Power Mac for the next 2 weeks and I'll be left without a computer.

    Cheers.
     
  5. Roman

    Roman Let's hug it out!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    I have Transcend memory modules from LMK. The owner of LMK also is running on Transcend memory modules and have no problems.

    Yeah I still have the old ones with me. Maybe I will try it out. Thanks.
     
  6. migboy

    migboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    the apple support also told me to do an archive and install but that didn't solve my problem... the fresh install solved it...
    also check the ram... try using the original ones.
     
  7. penmanila

    penmanila The Pinoy Penman
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,885
    Likes Received:
    1,743
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Diliman/Metrowalk
    aside from the RAM, kernel panics are sometimes caused by a rogue piece of software, or incompatibilities between the OS and some third-party software. please check if you've installed something that's causing the problem. (unfortunately, the only way you can check is by deleting then reinstalling the apps one by one.)
     
  8. gearbox

    gearbox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    DownUnder
    I have a problem with a unibody 2.4ghz with 2x2gb ram as well.
    Logic board and Ram has been replaced but it seems to act up whenever a 2x2gb ram is used, if i switch it to 1x2gb it works fine. i have used Rams from a working macbook and the problem only occurs on this particular unit. im stuck and waiting for apple to get back to me on this one.
     
  9. Roman

    Roman Let's hug it out!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Oh man. Please do get back to me on this one. It might be that mine is a defective unit.

    Thanks.
     
  10. LeoCastillo

    LeoCastillo Maestro
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,902
    Likes Received:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philippines
  11. Roman

    Roman Let's hug it out!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Wow. This is super helpful. Thank you Leo Castillo.

    I just wonder why the owner of LMK hasn't experienced the same?
     
  12. Roman

    Roman Let's hug it out!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Ok so I just spoke to Joann of LMK. She's replacing my RAM to Kingston. LMK (especially Joann) is totally cool deal with, very honest and accommodating.

    Should I still do a fresh install of Leopard once the Kingston RAM is in?
     
  13. Shinrai

    Shinrai Guest

    That's a bad sign - the ram that's easily available and affordable right now for DDR3 is Transcend.

    @coqueiro, try putting in the RAM first and see if that works out. In my case for pre-unibodies, switching the ram fixed kernel panics in the MBs. Hopefully you get yours fine after the replacement.
     
  14. kurisu

    kurisu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the RAM's the culprit, I believe there's no need to do a fresh install. Just run ONYX. :D
     
  15. Giecks888

    Giecks888 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    a friend of mine installed 2x2GB DDR3 Ram TRANSCEND and nothing happens naman. almost 3 weeks now since i installed it on her Macbook unibody (MB467). there are lots of Transcend memory (FAKE) in the market. :)
     
  16. Roman

    Roman Let's hug it out!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    UPDATE:

    Ok it's sure that the Transcend RAM is the culprit. I just had my RAM replaced to Kingston from Liteware (not pala LMK). The technician said that ALL the Transcend RAM they sold were replaced to Kingston.

    I also did a fresh install just to be certain and I'm back to normal.

    I suggest tell your friend to have her RAM replaced with Kingston since they should cost the same amount anyway.
     
  17. Giecks888

    Giecks888 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    i'll check her Macbook again today this afternoon but shes not bothered using a Transcend RAM. its been a while since i installed it. hmmmm.. i dunno with the other mac user who used TRANSCEND RAM.
     
  18. mindless

    mindless Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eyng? I don't get how a software like onyx can solve a hardware incompatibility problem.
     
  19. penmanila

    penmanila The Pinoy Penman
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,885
    Likes Received:
    1,743
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Diliman/Metrowalk
    that's not what the reply means. read the whole thread again. the suggestion is to run onyx after replacing the RAM, instead of reinstalling the system.

     
  20. Giecks888

    Giecks888 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    guys: nothing really happen with my friends TRANSCEND RAM that i installed a month ago and some clients of mine also. so, i really dunno why some mac users here, saying that the memory is not compatible with the NEW macbook aluminum. anyway, thanks and if someone out here uses TRANSCEND RAM, then try to check if its Original or FAKE. :)
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!