21.5" Stock iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Escritor, Apr 4, 2012.

1. Escritor

Escritor Member

Hi guys,

I'm about to buy a new desktop computer which I will be using for the following:

Extreme Usage on:

1. Work Related Report (Microsoft Office programs, Adobe Photoshop)
    2. Internet (research, research, more research)

Medium Usage on: Since I am already working my gaming time is reduce to 2-4 hours/daily

1. Games (Diablo 3, Online games such as Guildwars, WoW)

I am considering the iMac for a change, since I have been using an assembled Deskstop computer for more than 10 years now.

Now my question is, based on my Usage is the STOCK 21.5" iMac (I believe is also the most affordable iMAC in their current line-up) is more than enough to satisfy my needs in terms of Versatility and Speed?

or should I go for the higher specs of 21.5

2.7GHZ & 1TB & HD 6770

vs.

2.5GHz & 500GB & HD6750

2. bhoyetjumpay

bhoyetjumpay Well-Known Member

the base model is very much can handle your requirements;) you can feel the power of mac over windows machine and you'll never turning back nor going back:D

3. benzng

benzng Well-Known Member

just wait for the next iteration as its due to come out in a few months.

4. cybersniper

cybersniper PhilMUG Addict Member

Yeah wait for a newer version of iMac.

1. Smudge issue - this is very unacceptable
    2. Upgrading the HDD is a pain in the a$$ (or to an SSD should you opt to go this way)

5. Salaryman Ryan

Salaryman Ryan PhilMUG Addict Member

That model is very capable and should be able to handle all of the requirements you wrote. As for upgrading your hard disk, you can always pay authorized service centers like Digital Hub to install a new hard disk for you for around 600 pesos. No problem.

However, Cybersniper does have a good point, you better read up on the smudge issue which is prevalent in most current iMacs before deciding.

6. 650h2

650h2 Active Member

7. Salaryman Ryan