2019 21.5 inch Retina iMacs: Quad-core Core i3 model VS Six-core Core i5 model?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kimaguilar, Jun 27, 2020.

1. kimaguilar

kimaguilar New Member

Probably my first post in this site, and I just needed some answers before I place an order.

I’m an artist who does a lot of cartooning and basic 2D animations, and I’ve been needing to upgrade from my old 2013 Celeron-powered Windows laptop to a 21.5 inch Retina iMac, while also staying below my budget (90k or lower). Right now, however, I’m stuck between the two models of the 21.5 inch Retina 4k iMacs: The quad-core i3 model and the six-core i5 model. I don’t want a PC that’s too underpowered or too overpowered, so what do you guys think? And should I keep the rest of the configurations untouched (like the RAM, GPU, Fusion Drive, etc.)?

Thanks in advance! Here’s the image for a better look at the products. 173B14A9-3E01-4126-B0CF-915F0131ACBD.jpeg

2. Hero33

Hero33 PhilMUG Addict Member

the Imac is about to be replaced. Just wait.

3. tweek

tweek Well-Known Member

I'd personally wait for the 2020 iMac to come, buy it from the Amazon, Best Buy or other US retailer then have it shipped to a freight forwarder. You avoid paying 12% VAT.

It will still come out cheaper than you'd buy from Apple PH or local resller. It will probably come months before NTC approves it for importation.

Freight Forwarders will send it to your Malabon address.

ronjet likes this.
  4. Calhoun

Calhoun Active Member

If you need it for work and it's an investment, just go ahead and order now. The new iMac is still a rumor at this point. And when it gets announced, don't expect it to arrive this year anyway. The 2020 iPad Pro was announced last March 2020, and we still don't have it officially. iMacs are rather future-proof, so you will get many years of productivity.