2016 Macbook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ppineda1, Jun 12, 2016.

1. ppineda1

ppineda1 New Member

Disclaimer: Newbie Alert!

For give my ignorance - I am a total newbie to Macbooks. Is there really such a thing as a 2016-model Macbook Air?

I got one from BTB today and the staff there said I was getting the 2016 model. Although the RAM is at 8GB, the About page indicates that one I got is an Early-2015 model.

Could it be that it really is an Early-2015 model with 8GB of RAM and was just passed on as a 2016 model? Have I been duped?

Sorry for all the noob questions and thanks in advance!

2. Jsnc

Jsnc Active Member

Welcome to Philmug! You got the 13" MacBook Air? The difference between the 2015 and the 2016 is RAM. 2015 has 4GB and 2016 model comes with 8GB RAM.

2015 models can be configured with 8GB RAM, but as an added cost.

ppineda1 likes this.
  3. ppineda1

ppineda1 New Member

Thanks, Jsnc

4. drdom

drdom Member

My wife just got me this 2016 MBA. Love it! A joy to use compared to my 2008 unibody macbook (that still works BTW).
    My only gripe is the lack of a USB port and the need to get an adapter to use one :unsure:

5. Jsnc

Jsnc Active Member

No USB ports? I think you got the 12" macbook.

6. drdom

drdom Member

You're right... it's the 12" MacBook. Didn't realize it's not classified as MBA.

7. jcruze057

jcruze057 Member

So is there an mba 11" 2016?

8. mokmoki

mokmoki PhilMUG Addict Member

this is the golden question. everyone is waiting with bated breath for apple to announce new macbooks. the entire Mac lineup (except for the 12 inch MacBook) is due for a refresh. there's a possibility for an October announcement, but if that doesn't come then it will definitely be sometime early 2017.

9. mackulit

mackulit Member