Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: is this spyware?

  1. #1
    Mac User tisha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    57

    Default is this spyware?

    I downloaded a freeware app. A registration prompt came up asking for my name, email address, etc. I didn't fill in any information, just clicked on continue and it let me launch the app.

    A minute later, a promotional email came in from the developer. It was a reply-to email - it had quoted a message from me [see attachment] that was comprised of the headings of the info they were asking for. Those headings were sent to them via my email.

    How did they get my email address? How did they get my computer to email them my address? Am i right in assuming my clicking on continue automatically sent the information with my email address? Or is it some sort of spyware?

    I would greatly appreciate any thoughts on this.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense

    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many




     

  3. #2
    mgd
    mgd is offline
    Mac Fanatic mgd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    in a white room
    Age
    37
    Posts
    917

    Default

    Tisha, can we know what app it was that you downloaded and from where? It might have triggered your default email application to send an email to the developer. This would carry your default email address in the "From" field. Check your sent mail folder for any messages to the developer.

  4. #3
    Mac User tisha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Mgd, you're right, my sent folder has an email sent to the developer.
    The application was Directors Boards from
    http://homepage.mac.com/directors_notebook/downloadboards.html

    Is there anyway from preventing this trigger?
    Is it a common occurence?

    Thanks.

  5. #4
    mgd
    mgd is offline
    Mac Fanatic mgd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    in a white room
    Age
    37
    Posts
    917

    Default

    Hey, maybe you can give us a review of Directors Board. There's a thread on it in iApps.

    In my experience, applications that send emails to its developers will state that before you hit "continue". Hitting "cancel" will stop the "registration" process and allow you to use the application. Of course, Directors Board might be different. I suppose it's similar to sites that require you to enter an email address prior to downloading, except this one is after the fact. It also sounds like a simple mailto command. You've probably seen this in websites that have an email address highlighted as a link. When you click on the link, it opens up a mail composition window with the recipients address filled already.

    [Edited on 12-15-2004 by mgd]

  6.   



 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •