Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What's a good drawing program/alternative to Corel Draw?

This is a discussion on What's a good drawing program/alternative to Corel Draw? within the Graphic Designers forums, part of the Creative MUG Stuff category; Hi guys! Im a newbie here and with macs in general. Ive been using Corel Draw for drawing ever since ...

Liked
    8 times

Default What's a good drawing program/alternative to Corel Draw?

Hi guys! Im a newbie here and with macs in general. Ive been using Corel Draw for drawing ever since 2006 with my pc and now that im getting a mac, id just like to ask-
    id there a good alternative to Corel draw? I do Logos, cartoons, etc.
    thanks!

Default Re: What's a good drawing program/alternative to Corel Draw?

Adobe Illustrator

Liked
    8 times

oh thanks! any other good ones? preferably Affordable or free ones =) thanks guys

Liked
    16 times

You can try Inkscape software. It's an open source free apps for Mac OSX though I have not tried this out personally. You may download the free app HERE.

There's also a Mac version of CorelDraw which you might want to check out. During the earlier years CorelDraw only had PC versions as it was a PC based software. Adobe Illustrator was originally mac based back in the 80s. It's actually the "granddaddy" of vector based softwares and later was simulated by another software called Freehand and later by CorelDraw. Freehand used to be owned by Aldus Corp in the early 90s and later the rights was bought by Macromedia and called Macromedia Freehand. That time the competitors were Illustrator, Freehand and CorelDraw. In 2006 Adobe bought Macromedia and they discontinued Freehand and further developed Illustrator. Illustrator was actually the flagship product of Adobe before Photoshop came into the picture.