Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

This is a discussion on Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro within the Time Capsule, AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express forums, part of the Hardware MUG - Troubleshooting and Discussion category; Hi Guys, First off, please don't ask me to search the threads for answers to my questions. I already did ...

  1. #1
    Mac Fanatic makoy32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eton Cyberpod Corinthian, Ortigas Pasig City
    Age
    29
    Posts
    915
    Liked
    1 times

    Default Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro



    Hi Guys,

    First off, please don't ask me to search the threads for answers to my questions. I already did and did not find any relevant solution to the problem.

    My situation is like this: I have a SMART Bro Plan 999 at home. What I want to know is if I can use it to share wifi connection throughout the whole house. I've searched the internet but I can't seem to understand the whole process of setting up the router and cloning addresses, it really is vague up to now.

    I hope that there is someone kind enough to guide me on how to do this and for the benefit of the others as well. I need instructions on what to buy, how to set it up and if the whole idea is possible. I'm running a desktop pc and I don't know where to start.

    Please help..
    Everyone deserves a second chance..
    http://facebook.com/firsthandsecondhand

  2. #2
    Mac Lover macmyworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    216
    Liked
    1 times

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    does your desktop pc has a built in wifi? if none, you have to buy a wifi usb dongle and use this for internet sharing thru adhoc...

    am using ad hoc from my desktop to connect my iphone to the internet...

    go to this site., it helps dummies

    http://www.dummies.com/WileyCDA/Dumm...ETWORKING.html

    cheers!!!

  3. #3
    Mac Fanatic makoy32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eton Cyberpod Corinthian, Ortigas Pasig City
    Age
    29
    Posts
    915
    Liked
    1 times

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    Yup. That was what I was looking for. Do you have a particular brand so I can look for that when I buy later? And do they already know that if I tell them I need a USB wifi dongle?
    Everyone deserves a second chance..
    http://facebook.com/firsthandsecondhand

  4. #4
    Mac Lover macmyworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    216
    Liked
    1 times

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    am using air station wireless G... I got this from Japan...
    btw, just ask the store what is their best brand..

  5. #5
    Newbie nellee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    manila and bulacan
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    CDR king -cost 650 pesos (usb wifi)

  6. #6
    Mac Lover jayteecie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    N 8°56’22.5” 25°32’7.4”
    Posts
    254
    Liked
    7 times
    Real Name
    Jay Custodio

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    I have a Smart Bro in my office and I use a wireless router there (WRT54G V3.1). By default, it is configured to connect automatically, meaning the type of connection is automatic configuration. This should work instantly when you connect it to your Smart internetm save for you will be redirected to Smart portal. So just login to their site and just go through the authentication process. After which, you are good to go. Pretty straightforward isn't it?

    The only reason why MAC cloning is adviced is to somehow get rid of that authentication process. I suggest you get a wireless router, Linksys WRT54G2. That way, you can just connect your desktop directly to the router thru wired (cable) connection and your wifi devices wirelessly.
    Last edited by jayteecie; 11-07-2008 at 01:58 PM.

  7. #7
    Mac Fanatic makoy32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eton Cyberpod Corinthian, Ortigas Pasig City
    Age
    29
    Posts
    915
    Liked
    1 times

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    Cool! So you mean I just have to buy that Linksys router and connect the LAN Cable and authenticate and I can connect my iPhone through Wifi? It's that easy?
    Everyone deserves a second chance..
    http://facebook.com/firsthandsecondhand

  8. #8
    Mac Lover jayteecie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    N 8°56’22.5” 25°32’7.4”
    Posts
    254
    Liked
    7 times
    Real Name
    Jay Custodio

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    Yes! But I would advice you to secure your wifi as you will be broadcasting a free wifi and make your neighbors very happy if you won't do so.

  9. #9
    Mac Fanatic makoy32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eton Cyberpod Corinthian, Ortigas Pasig City
    Age
    29
    Posts
    915
    Liked
    1 times

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    Thanks for the replies!
    I just bought a Linksys WRT54G2 router. Problem is, I can't set it up properly.
    It keeps on going back to Smart Bro portal and lets me authenticate when I'm already done with inputting all service and account numbers.

    Where do i plug in the blue cable that came with it and the lan cable from Smart Bro?
    Everyone deserves a second chance..
    http://facebook.com/firsthandsecondhand

  10. #10
    Newbie nellee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    manila and bulacan
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Help on How To Set-up Wifi Using Smart Bro

    LAN cable from smartbro - router - blue cable goin to your laptop
    Thank you for staying ... even you have many reasons to leave...

  11.   




 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •