WIFI router.. what to recommend? (merged)

Discussion in 'Time Capsule, AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express' started by rockinrobin, Sep 2, 2007.

  1. jessec

    jessec Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    9
    i am using an apple extreme base as my main router and two Apple express connected wirelessly as expander, Getting full internet speed from my Main router but only 30% speed from the two expander, our house has concrete walls, Will I get any benefit from a mesh system? Tia
     
  2. SE20

    SE20 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    370
    Yeah - true story - when I had a Linksys router, after a couple of episodes the call center support guy and I became like old buddies. I even persuaded him to talk to me in Tagalog as he seemed to be able to give better directions that way. "Kumusta sir! May problem na naman router mo?"
     
  3. macfrancis

    macfrancis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    I suggest an access point but you need to connect an ethernet cable from the router to your access point. If you have an old wifi router and you can make it as a bridge mode. The consumer wireless mesh is not yet tested in Philippines concrete homes.
     
    jessec likes this.
  4. jessec

    jessec Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    9
    ^Thanks @macfrancis, I tried changing the placement of my apple express expander and got a better speed 60%. Satisfied for the mean time, will try cabling as access point in the future.
     
  5. iSk8er

    iSk8er Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    hello everyone! can you recommend a wifi router for me to be able to utilize my PLDT Home DSL 3mps data plan? Im only getting an actual DL reading of 250-350KBps but when i check it on speedtest, it DL reads at 2.5Mbps? sorry, not an IT guys so i really don't know if i do have any technical concerns. will appreciate any corrections on my initial understanding. thanks in advance.
     
  6. oj88

    oj88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    153
    That download speed is correct. You're just confusing kiloBytes per second with kilobits per second. These are usually abbreviated to kB/s and kbps, respectively.... The capital 'B' signifying Bytes.

    Your internet connection speed is measured in megabits per second (mbps), while your browser or file transfer utility is showing the download progress in kiloBytes per second (kB/s).

    1 Byte = 8 bits

    So to get mbps from kB/s, just simply multiply kB by 8. Hence, 350 kB/s = 2.8 mbps. You're not getting the full 3 mbps in file throughput due to network protocol overhead, but for all intents and purposes, you're getting the whole 3 mbps.
     
    RozenGrey, SpydeR_AR and iSk8er like this.
  7. Edelheid

    Edelheid Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    England/MNL
    It looks like the CIA can gain access to AirPort Extreme and Time Capsule. The project "HarpyEagle" is entirely dedicated to "gain root access on an Apple Airport Extreme and Time Capsule via local and/or remote means to install a persistent rootkit into the flash storage of the devices."

    This just goes to show that no router is ever secure. At this point it's silly to think any other manufacturers are safe from tampering.
     
  8. fcdiesta

    fcdiesta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    37
    I'm really intrigued by Asus' latest budget router, the RT-AC58U (I think it's RT-ACRH13 in the US). It retails for about US$70.
    [​IMG]
    For that, you get AC1300 (400+867 Mbps), 4x5dBi antennas, MU-MIMO, dual-band, Gigabit ethernet, guest networking (up to 6 guest networks), remote monitoring (via browser or the Asus Router app), 1xUSB 3 port, and has a quad-core processor. However, since it's not Broadcom-based, I don't think you can use custom firmware (DD-WRT, Tomato, etc.) on it. It's getting great reviews online, also on Amazon US. Only drawbacks I can see are the single USB port and the fact that you can't use custom firmware on it. Plus the Asus hacking vulnerability that has already been patched up reportedly.

    I'm currently using an Asus N-router and thinking of upgrading to this. I love the fact that this Asus router never gave me any problems, unlike my previous experiences with Linksys and D-Link. Also, their GUI is one of the best I've tried.

    Have any of you guys tried the AC58U yet?
     
    #1048 fcdiesta, Mar 17, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
    potpot2 likes this.
  9. pepspeps

    pepspeps Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    ::1
    ^ Haven't tried it yet but based on specs vs the price, I say go for it. MU-MIMO will be future-proof I guess.

    Quad-core processor was probably needed for the MU-MIMO feature. Just remember that routers normally use passive cooling. So the more cores, the more heat of course.

    If you look at my RT-AC68U, temp right now is at 89C. And this is only a Dual-core router. If I turn on the mini USB fan connected to it, it drops the temp about 10 degrees.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    fcdiesta likes this.
  10. King

    King Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    36
    Unsurpising when Apple has exited the router market.

    Best thing to do is buy new routers every few years that is supported by the manufactuer/
     
  11. bowman60

    bowman60 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    20
    Good call on the usb fan! Barely 5 mins on and temps dropped significantly. CPU temp actually started out in the mid 80s!!!

    IMG_2245.jpg
     
    pepspeps likes this.
  12. fcdiesta

    fcdiesta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    37
    So if I use the AC58U's lone USB port for a USB fan to cool the router, I won't be able to use the port for anything else. Can use a USB hub on that port? Highly doubtful, I guess...
     
  13. pepspeps

    pepspeps Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    ::1
    That I'm not sure since I don't use my router's USB port at all.

    But I read somewhere that Asus already supported USB 2.0 hubs on their latest routers sometime around 2014. YMMV
     
    fcdiesta likes this.
  14. oj88

    oj88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    153
    Use an extra USB charger to power the fan externally and problem solved. It's never a good idea to overload the router's USB port.
     
    fcdiesta likes this.
  15. porkypork

    porkypork Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Guys, can anybody recommend a 4G router? The ones that we can put a simcard in as the source of internet? Planning to put one in our cafe to avoid hardwiring DSL lines.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!