Very slow airplay mirroring. ATV2

Discussion in 'Apple TV' started by infiniteloop, May 8, 2012.

  1. infiniteloop

    infiniteloop Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    QC
    I have an iPad2 and iPhone 4S both running the latest iOS. Airplay is very slow and sometimes it cant even stream to my TV.

    I'm using ATV2 btw, router is Wireless-N from globe, like this one

    [​IMG]


    How do i fix this?

    Thanks

    EDIT:
    with the newly released iOS from apple, hindi na pala latest yun iOS ko. :-D
     
  2. Alucard

    Alucard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    32
    Not even sure where to begin. Too many variables, not enough info.

    Lets start with the basics:
    1.) Jailbroken?
    2.) iOS version?
    3.) ATV2 connected via wifi or ethernet?
    4.) Is your net ok?
    5.) Are you running torrents?
     
  3. infiniteloop

    infiniteloop Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    QC
    Sorry alucard, i thought what i wrote above is enough na.

    1.) Jailbroken? -No
    2.) iOS version?
    iPad2 & 4S 5.1 (the last one before 5.1.1).
    ATV2 5.0
    3.) ATV2 connected via wifi or ethernet? - Wifi. slightly better when connected thru LAN
    4.) Is your net ok? - its 2mbps; internet connection has nothing to do with airplay sir?? correct me if I'm wrong
    5.) Are you running torrents? - No
     
  4. extremeshot

    extremeshot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Las Pinas
    I also have a similar problem with a non-jb atv2, non-jb ipad2, ATV wired to N router, and the iPad is 3-5 meters away from the router so I'm quite annoyed by it. I do have a slow internet connection (pldt plan 990) but does that even play a factor in airplay mirroring?
     
  5. Alucard

    Alucard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    32
    Sorry for the late reply. We're trying to weed out potential problems, thus the questions.

    Wired connection (LAN) is always going to have better performance than wifi, so that's sort of expected. I assume you prefer to leave it as wifi, so all my assumptions will be wifi from here onwards.

    As for your net, you're correct in that airplay does not use the internet. But it does give us signals on whether there's a bottleneck somewhere, possibly in the router, that could be causing the hiccups. Again, just to clarify, Airplay DOES NOT use the internet.

    Next step I would take is to check whether the ATV2 connects to the internet with no problems. For example, try surfing to youtube on your atv2 and stream videos. If its slow then the problem is the connection between your router and ATV2. Try reseting network settings and see if that helps. If not, we'd have to continue looking ^^

    EDIT: I took the liberty of googling your problem and found several helpful answers. HTH
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3714349?start=0&tstart=0
    Also, I'm not a big fan of Globe's Prolink routers. It might be a pain for you to find the right settings to configure it like the link suggests. But google is your friend.
     
  6. infiniteloop

    infiniteloop Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    QC
    Thanks Alucard, i dont trust the globe's prolink routers too, kaso i have no choice but to use it.

    another question: I'm planning to buy an airport extreme, will it improve the performance if i connect the AEBS directly to the single LAN port of prolink and connect my ATV2 to the wifi created by AEBS? hindi ba bottleneck pa din ang prolink?


    thanks
     
  7. Alucard

    Alucard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    32
    When you say you have no choice, why is that? I use Globe broadband too. I connected their modem to a buffalo router with DD-WRT and all is fine in the world. Take note that I've been using this set up for about a bit over 2 years now. But the point is, you do have a choice.

    I don't have any experience with AEBS I'm sorry. After I get married and have my own place, I plan to get an AEBS to supply the network needs of our new house. However, placing a AEBS in front of your pro link probably won't help much.

    The best would be to connect a new AEBS to the Globe-provided modem. Or if pro link is your router modem, you can actually switch it to just become a bridge. Essentially, this turns off all routing features. You may google it to find out guides and passwords on the matter.

    Did you try to stream internet videos directly on your ATV2? Like youtube or vimeo?
     
  8. infiniteloop

    infiniteloop Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    QC
    Its a router modem, so i have no choice but use it. pero pwede pala yun bridge lang, thanks for that info.
    Re youtube video, its ok naman. maganda naman, very clear
     
  9. extremeshot

    extremeshot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Las Pinas
    What's the max speed of your wireless router? I have a feeling that the slow airplay is due to this limitation. My wireless N router is up to 72Mbps only and airplay lags.
     
  10. infiniteloop

    infiniteloop Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    QC
  11. LeoCastillo

    LeoCastillo Maestro
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,830
    Likes Received:
    145
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philippines
    Hi Infiniteloop, I have an AEBS at home and Airplay works perfectly.

    Leo
     
  12. Alucard

    Alucard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    32
    This will probably help you.
    Globe PROLINK H5201 needs to be set in bridge mode | PinoyDSL.Net
    User/password also provided within.

    If it plays YouTube videos well then I'm not too sure where the hiccup is. But if you plan on deploying an AEBS in your network as your router (with the pro link as just bridge modem), then the above link will apply. As for connection, make sure you connect AEBS to Apple TV 2 via wifi or ethernet. Both should be ok.

    HTH
     
  13. rabby

    rabby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Pasig
    Turn off WMM Support on your Router if you can find it see what happens
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!