Sony A6300?

Discussion in 'Videographers' started by pdcfelix, Jan 2, 2017.

1. pdcfelix

pdcfelix Member

I'm planning to get a Sony A6300 within the first quarter. I'll primarily use it for short films/ tv segments, etc.

Worth it ba siya? Thanks!

2. aksdman

aksdman Active Member

Same question here. I'm choosing between this or the Fuji X-T2 for video. Thanks in advance for any advice/replies/suggestions.

3. rebiscoco

rebiscoco Member

Hi Guys, I don't have one but I've been planning to get either Sony a6300 or a6500 do I've been doing some research for a month now.

* I'm not a PRO photog or videographer.

CONS:

1. Rolling Shutter
    2. Overheating for the a6300 when recording 4k.
    3. Battery life (I guess because it is a compact camera with a compact battery. Just get extra batteries)
    4. Menu is a mess but I believe you just have to get used to it then you're good.
    5. Expensive lens but you can use adapters and you'll be able to use your canon lens. You'll not be able to use the full potential of the AF on adapted lens.
    6. No audio out for monitoring. (You can use external audio mics/interface which has a audio out)

PROS:

1. 4k
    2. Lightweight, Portable
    3. Picture profiles like SLOG and CINE which has wide Dynamic Range
    4. VERY FAST AF
    5. Quality build
    6. Good for both Photo and Video
    7. 1080p 100fps or 120fps?

You can watch a lot of Youtube videos out there regarding reviews.

In my opinion, it depends on where you're going to use the camera. If you're going focus on VIDEO then I suggest get SONY. If you're going to focus on PHOTOGRAPHY I suggest you go for FUJI. In my own opinion SONY is more versatile, it's great on PHOTO and VIDEO however there are cons. It's like the jack of all trades but master of none. Don't get me wrong, it's a really great camera but I can't say it's the best for PHOTO or VIDEO. If you're focusing on PRO VIDEO and you want to up your game I suggest you get PANASONIC GH4/GH5.