Recommendation for newbie iOS developer

Discussion in 'Developers / Programmers' started by icedman21, May 23, 2016.

1. icedman21

icedman21 New Member

Hi everyone.

I have been a web and android developer for several years. I mostly use Win7 for web development and Lubuntu for Android programming.

Recently, I have been wanting to learn iOS programming, and since you can only really use an Apple system for this, I am looking for a system good enough for my needs. I am torn between a MacBook Pro 15 or the iMac 27inch 5K.

Having virtually no experience with Apple laptops and desktops, I am not sure what would be a better fit for me.

Are there any iOS developers here who can help me decide? Would really appreciate the help.

Thanks.

2. bacchus_3

bacchus_3 Well-Known Member

Go for portability. Get the MBP. There will be instances where you'd need to bring some of your work where an iMac can't go.

If price may be an issue get the smaller 13" MBP.

3. icedman21

icedman21 New Member

Is the MBP robust enough to run Xcode, and Android Studio at the same time, including the device emulators?

Pardon the total ignorance, I come from a very different background.

If it is able to do that, then I might be able to do all of work on the MBP, and never have to bring another device with me. I know the MBP has a great battery life, so that is definitely a big plus.

4. bacchus_3

I'm using a low-tier MBP 15" Retina (8GB RAM) and it can handle Xcode + Simulator + Instruments (profiling tool) just fine.

Been a long time I've used Java based IDEs but they are a memory hog so more RAM less beachballs with both running.

icedman21 likes this.
  5. icedman21

icedman21 New Member

Thank you so much for the inputs. Now it looks like I will be going with your recommendation.

I can always connect a spare display to the MBP if I need bigger screen real estate. All I need now are tutorials for iOS app development. (y)

6. Leviticusrockzph

Leviticusrockzph New Member