OS X Mavericks

Discussion in 'Mavericks (10.9)' started by bhoyetjumpay, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. vsperalta

    vsperalta Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    1
    updating your OS or not, I suggest you upgrade your RAM to at least 4GB. :)
     
  2. ManongPishbol

    ManongPishbol New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice guys. Will do.. Il stick with my mountain lion for now.
     
  3. amielDH

    amielDH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bacolod City
    Will the battery charge cycle count reset if I do a clean install on my MacBook Pro?
     
  4. mystavros

    mystavros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    1
    Count will not reset.
     
  5. amielDH

    amielDH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bacolod City
    Thanks! Planning on doing a clean install since my MacBook Pro is starting to lag but was worried that the count will reset. Cheers!
     
  6. tiffitotz

    tiffitotz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have the same unit as yours, only my HD has been upgraded. I'm on OS X Mavericks and it's running smoothly. Yes, even on 2GB RAM. Of course, higher RAM is recommended but I'm fine with mine.
     
  7. SE20

    SE20 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    342
    Still having problems with Time Machine on Mavericks - it takes about 3 days to back up 800 GB, where it used to take only minutes. And I have not yet seen a reliable fix via Apple website or Google. It takes hours and hours to just go through "Preparing backup..." and the backup process is exceedingly slow.

    Anyone else having this problem or has resolved it?

    Help please, thanks!
     
  8. LeoCastillo

    LeoCastillo Maestro
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philippines
    A possibility.... Perhaps your Time Machine hard drive is failing?

    Leo
     
  9. Adel

    Adel Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    166
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC
    I had reason to redo my Time Machine backup last week, and it also took a long time—a full day. And that was only a little over 400gb (I keep most of my files on external drives and leave just my apps and iTunes library on there so as to keep my iMac's 1tb home drive relatively free).

    Now, I haven't done this at all since I started using TM when it first came out, so it was my first time to do it, and I was wondering why it took so long.

    I just took it at face value and thought that was how it really was, and I attributed it to my backup drive's slow transfer speed (it was an old 750gb USB 2 drive—I didn't need a fast drive just for backing up), but now that you mention it, it was damned slow—that "Preparing Backup" stage took forever. There just might be something wrong with mine too.
     
  10. kenshinx

    kenshinx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Makati and Baliuag
    What's your computer? Mine is a Macbook mid 2011 and USB's (USB2) transfer speed has become super slow when I upgraded to Mavericks. So I guess its not the TM but the USB interface :)
     
  11. SE20

    SE20 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    342
    Come to think of it, my complaints with TM are only for my iMac 27. My rMBP backs up fast to a portable hard drive. So it could be a hard drive - I've started to prepare a different hard drive for this task. Connection is Firewire. The new hard disk will be connected via USB 3.0.
     
  12. kenshinx

    kenshinx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Makati and Baliuag
    Failing HDD is not only slow it also produce sound and irregular vibration when you touch it :)
     
  13. mark_17

    mark_17 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    try this: Fix Time Machine When Stuck on “Preparing Backup” in Mac OS X
     
  14. sybcruz

    sybcruz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    I cannot click on my trackpad but cursor is moving while installing mavericks. Please help. How can i select install? Is there a keyboard shortcut?
     
  15. dryxzzz

    dryxzzz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    P8, QC
    ^When you say you cannot click on the buttons of the install window, do you mean a TAP/DOUBLE TAP? If so, press with your thumb at the bottom left of your trackpad. Your trackpad 'preferences' are not active during the installation process. They are set to default rather than your settings. You can also use the Tab key to navigate across the installation window until the command button is highlighted, then press Enter. Hope this help.
     
  16. sybcruz

    sybcruz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Yes the tap/double tap. Ive tried clicking on the side. Nothing happen. Ive tried tab key. I keeps me going until when i have to choose whcich drive to install then i cant select the install button. Im stucked. Help
     
  17. mark_17

    mark_17 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    use any usb mouse...
     
  18. sybcruz

    sybcruz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Thank you! That one did the trick. I've installed it my problem now is that upon start up when I'm going to choose between my account and a guest account my trackpad tap/click is not working I have to use a mouse. How is that?
     
  19. LeoCastillo

    LeoCastillo Maestro
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philippines
    If there's a problem with the trackpad clicking, usually it's battery related. Have it checked in your suking Apple repair centre.

    Leo
     
  20. sybcruz

    sybcruz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Ahh. Ok. But before installation of osx mavericks my battery was okay. But now it says service battery. Is there a fix for this?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!